The La Liga 2022-23 season, Spain’s premier top-flight football competition, kickstarted on August 13 with Osasuna’s 2-1 win over Sevilla on the opening day of the season.

Osasuna striker Ezequiel Avila scored the opening goal in that match, which also ignited the race for the season’s Golden Boot award, famously known as the Pichichi award, given to the top goal-scorer of the campaign.

FC Barcelona’s Robert Lewandowski is La Liga's leading goal-scorer in 2022-23, having scored 14 goals in 18 matches.

The Polish international netted his first goal of the La Liga 2022-23 against Real Sociedad on matchday 2, where his brace powered Blaugrana to a 4-1 victory.

The prolific striker is a proven goal machine at the top level. Lewandowski’s tenure with Bayern Munich made him one of the most feared centre forwards in the world, where he scored 344 goals in addition to 72 assists in 375 matches across all competitions.

Lewandowski, who is also one of the leading goal-scorers in Bundesliga history, broke former Bayern Munich legend Gerd Muller’s record of 40 goals in a single Bundesliga season when he scored 41 goals in the 2020/21 campaign.

Closely following the 34-year-old are RCD Mallorca’s Vedat Muriqi and Real Betis’ Borja Iglesias.

Vedat Muriqi has already surpassed his tally of five goals in 16 matches last season whereas Borja Iglesias is on the way to accomplishing his individual best season in La Liga. 

Iglesias scored 17 goals in 37 matches in the 2018/19 season and looks set to exceed that tally thanks to his early goal-scoring exploits.

Celta Vigo’s Iago Aspas, who has scored 14 or more goals in each of the last seven campaigns, also features on the list of La Liga 2022-23 top goal scorers.

Defending champions Real Madrid’s attacking trio Frederico ValverdeVinicius Junior and Karim Benzema too are in the mix for the Pichichi award. 

Interestingly, Vinicius Junior and Karim Benzema were in the top three leading goal-scorers last time out, with Benzema clinching the award after netting 27 goals in 32 matches.

La Liga 2022-23 top goal scorers

Player Team Goals
Robert Lewandowski Barcelona 14
Joselu Espanyol 11
Karim Benzema Real Madrid 11
Alexander Sorloth  Real Sociedad 9
Iago Aspas Celta Vigo 9
Vedat Muriqi RCD Mallorca 8
Borja Iglesias Real Betis 9
Oihan Sancet Athletic Bilbao 8
Alvaro Morata Atletico Madrid 7
Brais Mendez Real Sociedad 7
Federico Valverde Real Madrid 7
Vinicius Junior Real Madrid 7
Enes Unal Getafe 7
Ezequiel Avila Osasuna 7


Photo credit: Alamy