Scoring a T20 international century is never easy considering the high-risk cricket being displayed in the shortest format of the game.

With each team getting to bat for a maximum of 20 overs (120 legal balls), smashing a T20 century is always considered to be a special feat.

However, with the evolution of T20 cricket in the last decade, batters have found it easier to score a T20 international century.

As T20 cricket gains prominence across the world, people often want to know who scored the first-ever T20 international century.

First-ever T20 international century

Former West Indies cricketer Chris Gayle scripted history as he slammed the first-ever T20 international century.

During the opening match of the inaugural T20 World Cup 2007, Chris Gayle scored the first-ever T20 international century as he took just 50 balls against hosts South Africa to achieve the incredible milestone in Johannesburg.

Gayle was later dismissed for a 57-ball 117, laced with seven fours and 10 sixes. 

His magnificent T20 international century propelled West Indies to 205/6 in their 20 overs.

Despite Gayle’s heroics, West Indies ended on the losing side as South Africa chased down the target in 17.4 overs.

Chasing 206, Herschelle Gibbs smashed 90 not out off just 50 balls along with contributions from Justin Kemp (46 not out) and captain Graeme Smith (28) to help the hosts chase the required runs with 14 balls to spare.

Since then, 146 centuries have been scored by 110 different players in T20 international cricket.

India’s Rohit Sharma and Australia’s Glenn Maxwell share the record for the most T20 international centuries.

Both Rohit Sharma and Glenn Maxwell have slammed five T20 international centuries so far.

Meanwhile, France’s Gustav Mckeon is the youngest cricketer to score a T20 international century.

At the age of 18 years and 280 days, Gustav Mckeon hammered 109 runs against Switzerland in July 2022.

On the other hand, Gibraltar's Avinash Pai is the oldest cricketer to score a T20 international centry.

Avinash Pai slammed 107 not out runs against Bulgaria in October 2021. 

As many as four players have scored a T20 international century on their debuts.

Canada’s Matthew Spoors, Leslie Dunbar of Serbia, Namibia’s Jean-Pierre Kotze and Ravinderpal Singh of Canada have achieved the incredible feat.

Former Australia captain Aaron Finch holds the record for the highest individual score in a T20 international match. He scored 172 runs off just 76 balls against Zimbabwe in July 2018.

Namibia's Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton has the record for the fastest T20 international century. Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton took just 33 balls to score a T20I hundred against Nepal during the Nepal Tri-Nation T20I 2024 series.

Photo credit: Alamy