Given the short nature of an innings in T20 cricket, scoring a century is not something most batters go on to achieve over the course of their careers.

What’s even more challenging is scoring a century in international cricket given the level of action and competitiveness on display in international games.

Ever since the start of T20 internationals in 2005, almost 150 tons have been scored by players in the 20-over format so far.

However, here we’ll focus on the players who hold the distinction of hitting the fastest T20 century in international cricket.

While former West Indies star Chris Gayle has struck the fastest hundred in the T20 format while representing Bengaluru against Pune in Indian T20 League 2013, he doesn’t hold the distinction for making the fastest T20 century in international cricket.

As far as the fastest century in T20Is goes, that record belongs to Namibia's Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, who made a hundred off 33 balls against Nepal in a tri-series clash in February 2024. 

By doing so, the Namibian batter surpassed the previous record-holder who was Nepal's Kushal Malla after he smashed a 20-over century off 34 balls.

Among full-member ICC nations, South Africa’s David Miller has hit the fastest century in T20 internationals. He took just 35 balls for his hundred against Bangladesh in 2017.

A couple of months later, Indian cricket team opener Rohit Sharma equalled Miller’s record in a 2017 T20I against Sri Lanka.

Here’s a closer look at some of the fastest t20 centuries in international cricket.

Fastest T20 century in international cricket

Player Opponent Balls Taken Year
Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton (Namibia) Nepal 33 2024
Kushal Malla (Nepal) Mongolia 34 2023
David Miller (South Africa) Bangladesh 35 2017
Rohit Sharma (India) Sri Lanka 35 2017
Sudesh Wickramasekara (Czech Republic) Turkey 35 2019

Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton 33-ball century against Nepal

In a tri-series match against Nepal in 2024, Namibia’s Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton struck a 33-ball century before eventually being dismissed for 101 off 36 deliveries. It is the fastest T20 century in international cricket and helped set up a 20-run win for Namibia after the African team dismissed Nepal to 186 in the run chase. 

Kushal Malla’s 34-ball century against Mongolia

The 2023 Asian Games Men's Cricket Competition saw Nepal’s Kushal Malla make a 34-ball century against Mongolia. He went on to score an unbeaten 137 off 50 balls as Nepal posted a mammoth 314/3 on the scoreboard. In reply, Mongolia was dismissed for a mere 41 as Nepal registered a comprehensive 273-run victory.

David Miller’s 35-ball century against Bangladesh

As far as full member nations are concerned, David Miller’s 35-ball ton against Bangladesh in a two-match series in 2017 is the fastest T20 century in international cricket. He finished his innings on an unbeaten 101 off 36 balls and along with the help of Hashim Amla’s 86, the Proteas posted 224/4 before bowling out Bangladesh for 141 and setting up an 83-run win to seal the series 2-0. 

Rohit Sharma’s 35-ball century against Sri Lanka

The second match of a three-game series between India and Sri Lanka witnessed Rohit Sharma make a 35-ball century against Sri Lanka in 2017. His knock along with KL Rahul’s 89 off 49 balls helped India put 260/5 on the scoreboard. In reply, Sri Lanka were bowled out for 172 in the second innings as India registered an 88-run win to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.

Photo credit: Alamy