Australia cricketer Aaron Finch currently holds the record for the highest individual score in T20 International cricket.

The Aussie skipper slammed a 76-ball 172 against Zimbabwe in a 2018 T20I match at Harare. The knock was laced with 16 boundaries and 10 sixes as he helped Australia to 229/2 in 20 overs.

His knock of 172 was three runs short of Chris Gayle’s record for the highest individual score in T20 cricket. The West Indies icon hit 175 runs off 66 balls against the now-defunct Pune franchise in a 2013 Indian T20 League match.

Finch’s 172 against Zimbabwe improved his own record for the highest individual score in T20 cricket, that he set in 2013.

Finch had hammered a 63-ball 156 in the first T20I against England at Southampton. This knock surpassed the previous best - 123 by Brendon McCullum against Bangladesh in 2012.

Afghanistan cricketer Hazratullah Zazai currently boasts the second-highest individual score in T20 cricket.

In the 2019 T20I against Ireland, Zazai opened the batting and hit unbeaten 162. The scintillating hundred, packed with 11 boundaries and 16 maximums, powered Afghanistan to post a mammoth score of 278/3 in their allotted 20 overs.

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell is fourth on the list of the highest individual scorers in T20I cricket.

The hard-hitting Australian star smashed an unbeaten 145 off 63 balls against Sri Lanka in 2016. His innings featured 14 boundaries and nine sixes.

Hungary’s Zeeshan Kukikhel rounds up the top five list for the highest individual scorer in men’s T20I cricket.

With his team chasing a target of 197 against Austria, Zeeshan played a determined knock of 137 in 49 balls in 2022. His innings was built up of seven boundaries and 15 sixes.

Meanwhile, India captain Rohit Sharma holds the record for the highest individual score in T20I cricket among Indian cricketers.

Opening the innings against Sri Lanka in a 2017 match, Rohit slammed a 43-ball 118 where he equalled David Miller’s record for the fastest century in T20 internationals (35 balls).

Highest individual score in T20 International cricket

Player and Team Opponent Runs Year
Aaron Finch (Australia) Zimbabwe 172 2017
Hazratullah Zazai (Afghanistan) Ireland 162* 2019
Aaron Finch (Australia) England 156 2013
Glenn Maxwell (Australia)  Sri Lanka 145* 2016
Zeeshan Kukikhel (Hungary) Austria 137 2022

Author: William Paul

Featured photo: AFP / ISHARA S. KODIKARA