The Big Bash League 2022-23 commenced on a thrilling note after Sydney Thunder, who are in the running for their second title, edged past Melbourne Stars by one wicket on the inaugural day of the competition.

Melbourne Stars batter Joe Clarke hit a boundary off the first ball in that match to get scoring charts up and running for the season, which promises to be another edition filled with fours and sixes amidst high-scoring thrillers.

Adelaide Strikers’ batter Chris Lynn, who is the leading run-getter in Big Bash League history, and Matthew Short, feature among the players with the most runs in BBL 2022-23.

While Lynn scored two consecutive 30-plus scores in the opening two fixtures, including a steady 27-ball 36 in the match where Sydney Thunder recorded the all-time lowest team total in T20 cricket, Short began his season with a fiery 53-ball 84 in the first match against Sydney Sixers.

Brisbane Heat’s Colin Munro is also in the fray to finish as the leading run-scorer. Munro comes with a reputation as a big hitter and has lived up to the expectations so far. Although Heat’s campaign has not gone according to their plans, Munro is well set to have a successful individual campaign.

The New Zealand batter smashed his highest score of 98 off 53 balls against Sydney Thunder albeit in a losing cause.

Englishmen James Vince, Alex Hales and Joe Clarke alongside the Australian trio Josh Inglis, Aaron Finch and Oliver Davies are some of the other power-hitters in contention to clinch the Golden Bat award, given to the top run-scorer at the end of every season.

Interestingly, Alex Hales is the only overseas player to win the Golden Bat award in the history of the tournament. He finished the 2020–21 season with 543 runs in 15 matches at a strike rate of 161.60.

Let us have a look at the batters with the most runs in the Big Bash League 2022-23 season.

Most runs in Big Bash League 2022-23

Player Team Matches Runs
Aaron Hardie Perth Scorchers 15 480
Matthew Short Adelaide Strikers 14 458
Josh Inglis Perth Scorchers 1 431
Aaron Finch Melbourne Renegades 15 428
Chris Lynn Adelaide Strikers 11 416
Ashton Turner Perth Scorchers 16 381
Joe Clarke Melbourne Stars 14 381
Jordan Silk Sydney Sixers 16 363
Tim David Hobart Hurricanes 14 354
Steven Smith Sydney Sixers 5 346

Photo credit: Alamy