Isle of Man got bowled out for 10 runs on February 26, 2023, against Spain and it is the lowest score in T20 cricket. It is also the lowest team total in T20 Internationals.

Batting first, the Isle of Man batters were tormented by Mohammad Kamran (4/4 in four overs) and Atif Mehmood (4/6 in four overs) and they got bowled out in 8.4 overs. 

Before Isle of Man, the national team of Sydney Thunder held the unwanted record after getting bowled out inside the powerplay. They scored just 15 runs against the Adelaide Strikers in BBL 2022-23.

Turkey, meanwhile, previously held the record of the lowest team total in T20Is. Playing in a Continental Cup match in Ilfov County, Romania, Czech Republic won the toss and decided to bat first. The Czech team rode on a 35-ball hundred from their star batsman Sudesh Wickramasekara to post a mammoth score of 278/4 in their 20 overs, which is the highest score in T20.

In reply, Turkey were bundled out for just 21 in 8.3 overs with Mehmat Sert (12), the only batsman managing to reach double figures. They registered the lowest score in T20 Internationals and slumped to an embarrassing 257-run defeat.

Interestingly, Turkey surpassed their own humiliating record of 28 all out made against Luxembourg a day before. Unfortunately, they were also skittled out for the fourth-lowest total in T20Is, 32 all out against Austria, a day later.

Turkey missed the services of seven regular players who could not make it due to visa issues. “We had to field a make-shift team because we love our cricket,” international coordinator to Cricket Turkey Salman Ali said.

“Some of our players were more than 55 years old. Osman Goker, aged 59 years 181 days, became the oldest player ever to make his debut in international cricket during the tournament,” he added.

Among full member nations of the International Cricket Council (ICC), West Indies hold the unwanted record of the lowest score in T20 Internationals. The two-time world champions West Indies were bowled out for just 45 runs by England at Basseterre in 2019. England won the match by a massive 137-run margin.

Meanwhile, the Indian cricket team’s lowest score in T20Is is 74 all out against Australia in 2008. The visitors were thrashed by nine wickets in Melbourne.

In the Indian T20 League, the Virat Kohli-led Bangalore hold the record for the lowest score in the high-profile league.

Chasing just 132 for a win, Bangalore were bowled out for just 49 by Kolkata in the 2017 season at the Eden Gardens. Bangalore remains the only team to be bowled out without putting at least 50 on the board in the Indian T20 League.

Lowest score in T20

Team Score Opposition Year
Isle of Man 10 Spain 2023
Sydney Thunder 15 Adelaide Strikers 2022
Turkey 21 Czech Republic 2019
China 23 Malaysia 2023
Lesotho 26 Uganda 2021
China 26 Thailand 2023
Turkey 28 Luxembourg 2019
Tripura 30 Jharkhand 2009
Thailand 30 Malaysia 2022

Lowest score in T20: Indian T20 League

Team Score Opposition Year
Bangalore 49 Kolkata 2017
Rajasthan 58 Bangalore 2009
Rajasthan 59 Bangalore 2023
Delhi 66 Mumbai 2017
Delhi 67 Punjab 2017

Photo credit: Alamy