The Big Bash League (BBL) is a prime 20-over franchise cricket tournament, which marks the onset of Australian summer every year with its calendar running from December to January/February.

Since the inaugural season in 2011, the T20 competition has seen some top-notch batters live up to their reputation, smashing the bowlers all around the stadium and racking up quite a few runs in the process.

Right-handed batter Chris Lynn has scored the most runs in BBL history. The Aussie, who has played for Brisbane Heat and Adelaide Strikers, has amassed 3,725 runs and continues to take the opposition bowlers to the cleaners to date.

Meanwhile, Australian all-rounder Marcus Stonis has scored the most runs in a single BBL season. He is the only player to cross the 700-run mark in a season, amassing 705 runs in 17 matches during the 2019-20 season. His exploits that season won him the Player of the Tournament. 

Most runs in Big Bash League

Player Matches Span Runs
Chris Lynn 120 2011-2024* 3725
Aaron Finch 107 2011-2024* 3311
Jonathan Wells 135 2011-2024* 2954
D'Arcy Short 93 2016-2024* 2950
Glenn Maxwell 109 2011-2024* 2916
Moises Henriques 129 2011-2024* 2878
Shaun Marsh 79 2011-2024* 2810
Marcus Stoinis 101 2012-2024* 2666
Matthew Wade 99 2011-2024* 2649
Ben McDermott 94 2014-2024* 2596

(*) denotes active players

Chris Lynn (Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Strikers) - 3,725 runs in Big Bash League

The former Brisbane Heat batter, currently plying his trade for the Adelaide Strikers, Chris Lynn has scored the most runs in the Big Bash League. He has played every edition since the inception of the tournament in 2011.

Having played the first 11 seasons with Brisbane Heat, Lynn moved to Adelaide Strikers ahead of the 2022-23 campaign.

He guided Brisbane Heat to their only title in the second edition, where he scored 175 runs in nine matches including two half-centuries.

Moreover, Lynn holds the record for hitting the most sixes in the tournament’s history. He has tonked more than 190 maximums so far, including 27 in 2015-16, the then record for most sixes in a single edition.

Aaron Finch (Melbourne Renegades) - 3,311 runs in Big Bash League

The one-franchise man Aaron Finch is next on the list of the most runs in Big Bash League history.

Aaron Finch, who also owns the record for the highest individual score in T20Is, captained Melbourne Renegades in nine consecutive seasons between 2012 and 2021. 

Following a string of disappointing campaigns, Renegades won their maiden trophy in 2018-19 under Finch’s leadership when they defeated their local rivals Melbourne Stars by 13 runs.

Interestingly, he is also the only player to notch a century for Melbourne Renegades throughout its history. Overall, he has recorded two tons, one each in 2012-13 and 2019-20.

The Australian trio of Glenn Maxwell, Jonathan Wells and D'Arcy Short also feature among the top run-scorers in Big Bash League, with just a handful of runs separating the three power-hitters.

Photo credit: Alamy