The Indian women’s cricket team will lock horns with arch-rivals Pakistan in their second Group A match of the Women’s T20 event at Commonwealth Games (CWG) 2022 in Birmingham, England on Sunday, July 31. The match will start at 3:30 PM IST (Indian Standard Time).

Led by captain Harmanpreet Kaur, India Women will look to bounce back after suffering a three-wicket defeat against mighty Australia in their opening match of the competition.

After opting to bat first, India rode on Harmanpreet’s 34-ball 52 and Shafali Verma’s 48 off 33 balls to post a competitive total of 154/8 in their allotted 20 overs.

Defending 155, India right-arm pacer Renuka Singh bowled a dream spell as she removed Australia’s top-order batters Alyssa Healy (0), captain Meg Lanning (8), Beth Mooney (10) and Tahlia McGrath (14) in her four overs. Renuka Singh finished with figures of 4-0-18-4.

Reeling at 34/4, Australia's star all-rounder Ashleigh Gardner smashed an unbeaten 52-run knock in just 35 balls to snatch an impressive victory from the jaws of defeat.

With the help of Gardner’s match-winning knock, Australia won the inaugural Women’s T20I match at the Commonwealth Games.

On the other hand, Pakistan Women started their CWG 2022 campaign on a disappointing note as they succumbed to a 15-run defeat against Barbados Women.

After captain Hayley Matthews (51) and wicket-keeper batter Kycia Knight (62 not out) powered Barbados to 144/4 in their 20 overs, Pakistan were restricted to 129/6 in their reply. 

Barbados are currently leading the Group A standings with two points followed by Australia, who are second with the same number of points but have a lower net run rate

Meanwhile, both India and Pakistan need to win at Edgbaston Cricket Ground on Sunday in order to stay alive in the Women’s T20 event at CWG 2022.

India Women vs Pakistan Women head-to-head in T20I cricket

India Women have a dominant head-to-head record against Pakistan Women in the T20I format, winning nine of the 11 matches that they have contested so far. Pakistan have secured just two victories.

Furthermore, India have won four of their last five matches against Pakistan in Women’s T20I cricket.

The last time these two sides met, Harmanpreet Kaur-led India secured a comprehensive seven-wicket win over Pakistan in the ICC Women’s World T20 in 2018.

India vs Pakistan squads for Women’s T20 at CWG 2022

India Women: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Sabbhineni Meghana, Taniya Sapna Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Yastika Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana

Pakistan Women: Bismah Maroof (captain), Muneeba Ali (wicket-keeper), Anam Amin, Aiman Anwer, Diana Baig, Nida Dar, Gull Feroza (wicket-keeper), Tuba Hassan, Kainat Imtiaz, Sadia Iqbal, Iram Javed, Ayesha Naseem, Aliya Riaz, Fatima Sana, Omaima Sohail

Where to watch India vs Pakistan Women’s T20 at CWG 2022 live in India?

The India Women vs Pakistan Women Commonwealth Games T20I match will be telecast live from 3:30 PM IST on Sony TEN 1, Sony TEN 1 HD, Sony TEN 3, and Sony TEN 4 TV channels in India.

Live streaming of India vs Pakistan Women’s T20I match will also be available on the SonyLiv app and website.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites

Featured photo: MICHAEL BRADLEY / AFP