The Indian women’s cricket team will square off against reigning T20 world champions Australia in their opening match of the Women’s T20 event at Commonwealth Games 2022 (CWG 2022) in Birmingham, England on Friday, July 29.

Cricket returns to the Commonwealth Games for the first time in 24 years since a List A men’s tournament was held in the 1998 Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Under Shaun Pollock, the South African men’s cricket team won the gold while Australia and New Zealand clinched silver and bronze, respectively.

Meanwhile, the women’s cricket T20 competition will make its debut in the prestigious multi-sport event. 

The Women’s T20 competition at CWG 2022 will see eight teams compete for the coveted gold medal. 

India Women are placed in Group A along with Australia, Pakistan and Barbados. 

Led by captain Harmanpreet Kaur, the Women in Blue will kick-start their CWG 2022 campaign against Australia on July 29 and will later face arch-rivals Pakistan on Sunday, July 31. India are also scheduled to play Barbados in the final Group A match on Wednesday, August 3.

Star opening batter Smriti Mandhana has been named Harmanpreet’s deputy while wicket-keeper batter Taniya Bhatia, all-rounder Sneh Rana and middle-order batter Harleen Deol are some of the notable inclusions in India’s 15-member squad for the Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham.

Leg-spinner Poonam Yadav, wicket-keeper batter Richa Ghosh and Simran Bahadur, who were part of the recently-concluded T20I series against Sri Lanka, have been named in the reserves.

On the other hand, Group B features England, South Africa, New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

As per the schedule, every team in the tournament will play a total of three matches in their respective groups. The top two-placed teams in each group will qualify for the semi-finals. The Women’s T20 final will be played on Sunday, August 7.

All matches of the Women’s T20 competition at CWG 2022 will be played at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham.

Indian women’s cricket team squad for Women’s T20 at CWG 2022 

India squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Sabbhineni Meghana, Taniya Sapna Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Yastika Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana

Indian women's cricket team’s CWG 2022 schedule, fixtures and India match times

All times are in Indian Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date




Friday, July 29

Australia Women vs India Women


3:30 PM IST

Sunday, July 31

India Women vs Pakistan Women


3:30 PM IST

Wednesday, August 3

Barbados Women vs India Women


10:30 PM IST

Where to watch Cricket at CWG 2022 live in India?

The Indian women’s cricket team’s T20 matches at Commonwealth Games 2022 will be telecast live on Sony Sports Network’s TV channels in India.

Live streaming of Cricket at CWG 2022 will be available on the SonyLiv app and website.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sit