Chris Gayle is the record holder for most fours in T20 cricket, with a whopping 1,132 boundaries in 463 matches from 2005 to 2022.

The towering Jamaican, who also has hit the most sixes in T20 cricket, is the only player in T20 cricket history to register 1000 fours and sixes each and is likely to keep hold of the records for a foreseeable future.

Gayle hit 13 fours in his record unbeaten knock of 175 off just 66 balls in the 2013 Indian T20 League, his best performance in T20 cricket.

Alex Hales is second for most fours in T20 cricket. The Englishman, who has played in 336 T20 matches, has smashed 1,054 fours, scoring 9,471 career runs. He is best known for hitting 14 boundaries in his 47-ball 101 for Nottinghamshire against Yorkshire in 2017.

Australia’s David Warner is regarded as one of the most destructive openers in T20 cricket history, given he is someone who never shies away from hitting boundaries on a whim. The southpaw has slammed 1,005 fours in 314 T20 matches.

Meanwhile, Aaron Finch is the player with the most fours in a T20I innings. He hit a record 16 boundaries in his 76-ball 172 against Zimbabwe in 2018 and that is among some of his impressive performances both internationally and in franchise T20 cricket.

Finch sits fourth on the list for most fours in T20 cricket with 1,004 boundaries from 348 games.

Shikhar Dhawan wraps up the top-five list for most fours in T20 cricket. The left-handed opener recently became the first Indian to reach the 1,000 mark (1,001) for boundary fours in the shortest format of cricket and achieved it in 307 T20 games.

Most fours in T20 cricket

Player Career span Matches Fours
Chris Gayle 2005-2022 463 1,032
Alex Hales 2009-2022 336 1,054
David Warner 2007-2022 314 1,005
Aaron Finch 2009-2022 348 1,004
Shikhar Dhawan 2007-2022 307 1,001

Author: William Paul

Featured photo: AFP / David Gray