West Indies batting legend Chris Gayle has scored the most runs in T20 cricket

The self-proclaimed ‘Universal Boss’ has so far made 14,562 runs in 463 T20 matches while playing for as many as 28 different teams. This includes the West Indies cricket team, Team Punjab, Kolkata and Bangalore in the Indian T20 League as well as Lahore Qalandars and Quetta Gladiators from the Pakistan Super League among others.

During his illustrious career that started in 2005, the southpaw hit a whopping 22 hundreds and 88 fifties. This return is the most any player has ever managed in the shortest format. On top of that, he is also the only player to hit more than 1000 sixes in T20 cricket, having notched 1056 maximums during his career.

For someone who has maintained a strike rate of 144.75, it doesn’t come as a surprise that his best T20 score is a brilliant 66-ball 175*. This breathtaking innings came while playing for Team Bangalore in the 31st match of the 2013 Indian T20 League season.

Up against Team Pune, Gayle hit 13 fours and 17 sixes, meaning that a whopping 88 per cent of his total runs came from the boundaries alone. Riding on his unbeaten 175, Bangalore scored 263/5 which is the highest team total in the Indian T20 League history.

Following Gayle in the list for most runs in T20 cricket is Pakistan all-rounder Shoaib Malik. The veteran cricketer has scored 11,698 runs in the shortest format since making his debut in 2005. The only thing eluding the legendary Pakistan all-rounder is a century in the format. While he has scored 71 fifties, he is yet to score a hundred.

West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard features third in the list with 11,427 runs in T20 cricket. Pollard, like his West Indies teammate Chris Gayle, has featured for a number of T20 teams around the world, playing a total of 581 matches - most by any player.

Australia’s limited-overs captain Aaron Finch and opening batter David Warner complete the top five list for most T20 runs with 10,444 and 10,308 runs respectively.

Most runs in T20 cricket

Player Matches Runs High score Average Strike rate 100s 50s
Chris Gayle 463 14,562 175* 36.22 144.75 22 88
Shoaib Malik 472 11,698 95* 36.55 127.13 0 71
Kieron Pollard 581 11,427 104 31.56 151.87 1 56
Aaron Finch 347 10,444 172 33.90 139.86 8 68
David Warner 313 10,308 135* 37.75 140.87 8 85

As far as Indian players are concerned, former captain, Virat Kohli holds the record for most runs in T20 cricket for India. The top order batter has scored 10,273 runs in the shortest format.

Kohli is followed by current captain Rohit Sharma (9,895), Shikhar Dhawan (8,775), Suresh Raina (8,654) and Robin Uthappa (7,042).

Most runs in T20 cricket by an Indian player

Player Matches Runs High score Average Strike rate 100s 50s
Virat Kohli 326 10,273 113 41.09 133.24 5 76
Rohit Sharma 370 9,895 118 31.91 133.75 6 69
Shikhar Dhawan 303 8,775 106* 32.50 124.78 2 63
Suresh Raina 336 8,654 126* 32.17 137.45 4 53
Robin Uthappa 279 7,042 92 28.51 133.04 0 40

Featured photo: AFP / Alexander Joe