West Indies cricket team batsman Chris Gayle currently holds the record for hitting the most sixes in T20 cricket

Often regarded as the greatest T20 batsman in history, the Chris Gayle has clobbered 1056 sixes in just 463 matches and has amassed a staggering 14,562 runs at an average of 36.22 and strike rate of 144.75. The southpaw is the only cricketer to aggregate more than 14,000 runs and smash over 1000 sixes in the shortest format of the game.

Since making his T20I debut against New Zealand in 2006, Gayle has cemented himself as one of the most feared batsmen in world cricket and helped West Indies claim the ICC World T20 titles in 2012 and 2016.

Chris Gayle has hit 124 sixes in T20 International matches, which is the fourth-highest only behind Rohit Sharma (182) of India, New Zealand’s Martin Guptill (173) and Australia's Aaron Finch (125).

Apart from representing the West Indies, Gayle has played for several franchises in the Indian T20 League, Caribbean Premier League, Big Bash, Pakistan Premier League and Bangladesh Premier League. 

The Jamaica-born cricketer broke the record for the fastest T20 hundred in history when he scored a blitzkrieg 66-ball 175 for Bangalore against Pune in the Indian T20 League. Gayle also holds the record for the joint-fastest fifty along with Yuvraj Singh and Hazratullah Zazai having smashed a 12-ball half-century while playing for Melbourne Renegades in the Big Bash.

Apart from Gayle, his West Indies teammates Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell are in the top three list for most sixes in T20 cricket. While Pollard has hit 794 sixes, Russell has smashed 582 maximums.

Former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum (485) and retired Australia all-rounder Shane Watson (467) complete the top five list for the most sixes in T20 cricket.

Most sixes in T20 cricket

Player Matches Sixes
Chris Gayle 463 1056
Kieron Pollard 625 812
Andre Russell 436 587
Brendon McCullum 370 485
Colin Munro 376 480
Shane Watson 343 467
Rohit Sharma 407 462
Aaron Finch 382 452
AB de Villiers 340 436
Alex Hales 389 431

Most sixes in T20 Internationals

Player Matches Sixes
Rohit Sharma 148 182
Martin Guptill 122 173
Aaron Finch 103 125
Chris Gayle 79 124
Eoin Morgan 115 120
Virat Kohli 115 117
Paul Stirling 121 117
Evin Lewis 53 111
Colin Munro 65 107

Featured photo: IPL/BCCI