Day 2 of Indian T20 League 2022 will witness two mouth-watering clashes as Delhi will cross swords with Mumbai at Brabourne Stadium while Punjab will take on Bangalore at DY Patil Stadium on Sunday, March 28.

While Delhi have been impressive to reach the playoffs in the last three seasons, they have yet to win the coveted trophy since the Indian T20 League began in 2008. On the contrary, Mumbai are the most successful franchise in the Indian T20 League, winning the title five times.

In the head-to-head record in the Indian T20 League, Mumbai hold a slender advantage over Delhi, winning 16 of the 30 matches that they have contested. Delhi have secured 14 victories.

Ahead of the second match of the Indian T20 League 2022, we look at the key battle between two players from both sides, which could decide the outcome of the match.

Delhi vs Mumbai key player battle

Rishabh Pant vs Jasprit Bumrah

It has always been an interesting watch when Rishabh Pant has faced Jasprit Bumrah in the Indian T20 League. While Bumrah has been exceptional against Delhi, he has made Pant his bunny in the high-profile T20 League. India’s premier fast bowler Bumrah has dismissed Pant six times in 12 Indian T20 League matches so far. 

Bumrah made things difficult for Pant in his early days in the league by dismissing him thrice in eight deliveries during the 2016 and 2017 seasons.

Rishabh Pant record vs Jasprit Bumrah


Runs scored

Balls faced








Interestingly, Bumrah has claimed 20 wickets in 17 matches against Delhi at an average of 23.55 and an economy rate of 7.35.

In Sunday’s second fixture, the new-look teams of Punjab and Bangalore will be vying for a positive start to the new Indian T20 League season. 

While Bangalore have reached the Indian T20 League finals in 2009, 2011 and 2016, they are yet to get their hands on the trophy. Similarly, Punjab played the 2014 Indian T20 League final but are yet to clinch the coveted title.

Punjab and Bangalore have faced each other 28 times in the Indian T20 League with the former securing 15 victories while the latter has clinched 13 wins.

Let’s look at the key battle between Punjab and Bangalore, which could decide the fate of the contest.

Punjab vs Bangalore key player battle

Sandeep Sharma vs Virat Kohli

Former Bangalore captain Virat Kohli has been Sandeep Sharma’s favourite victim in the Indian T20 League. Known for his early swing, fast bowler Sandeep has dismissed Kohli seven times in the T20 League. Meanwhile, Kohli has scored 73 runs in 55 deliveries that he has faced in 13 Indian T20 League innings.

Virat Kohli record vs Sandeep Sharma


Runs scored

Balls faced








Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Manjunath KIRAN / AFP