The Brabourne Stadium was established in the city of Mumbai in 1937.

Named in honour of Michael Knatchbull, 5th Baron Brabourne who was the Governor of Bombay between 1933 and 1937, the stadium was built on reclaimed land along Marine Drive in South Mumbai and is India's first permanent sporting venue.

It is owned by the Cricket Club of India (CCI) and has a seating capacity of 20,000. A year after its foundation stone was laid in 1936, the CCI XI and Lord Tennyson's XI played the first official match on the ground.

While the first T20 match played at the Brabourne Stadium was a 2007 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy match between Maharashtra and Saurashtra, the first and only T20I held at the ground was an India vs Australia T20I match in October 2007.

The Brabourne Stadium is the home venue for the Cricket Club of India and Mumbai domestic team. It has also been a secondary ground for Indian T20 League teams Mumbai and Rajasthan.

Team Mumbai, in fact, played all seven home games of their 2010 Indian T20 League season at the Brabourne Stadium, before permanently shifting to the Wankhede Stadium.

Let’s have a look at the T20 records at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, India.

Brabourne Stadium T20 records

Highest team total: Mumbai’s 193/9 against Tamil Nadu in their 2012 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy game is the highest score in a T20 match - which wasn’t in the Indian T20 League - at the Brabourne Stadium. Abhishek Nayar (79) and Wasim Jaffer (51) top-scored for the team.

Most wickets: Former India spinner Harbhajan Singh has taken the most T20 wickets at the Brabourne Stadium with 13 wickets to his name at the venue.

Best bowling figures: Sankalp Vohra has the best bowling figures in a T20 match at Brabourne Stadium. Making his debut for Baroda in a 2007 Inter-State Twenty-20 Tournament match against Saurashtra, the left-arm medium bowler took five wickets for just 22 runs and guided his team to a 33-run victory.

Brabourne Stadium Indian T20 League records

Highest team total: Team Rajasthan’s 217/5 against Team Kolkata during the 2022 edition is the highest score in an Indian T20 League match at the Brabourne Stadium. Jos Buttler smashed 103 off just 61 balls to power his side to the mammoth total.

Lowest team total: Team Bangalore hit the lowest total in the Indian T20 League at the Brabourne Stadium. Taking on Team Hyderabad in the 2022 season, Bangalore were bundled out for 68 in the first innings. Marco Jansen (3/25) and T Natarajan (3/10) were Hyderabad's standout bowlers.

Most runs: Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan has scored 286 runs at the Brabourne Stadium - the most by any batter. In eight matches, the Delhi-born batter went at a strike rate of 134.9 and notched three fifties at the venue.

Highest partnership: Suresh Raina and S Badrinath stitched the highest partnership in the Indian T20 League at this venue. Their unbeaten 142-run stand came against Team Mumbai in a 2010 meeting at the Brabourne Stadium, with Raina contributing the majority of the runs (78).

Most wickets: Indian bowlers Kuldeep Yadav and Khaleel Ahmed have taken the most wickets at this ground. They have 10 wickets at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

Best bowling figures: Yuzvendra Chahal holds the record for the best bowling figures in an Indian T20 League game at the Brabourne Stadium. The Indian spinner bagged a 5/40 haul, including a hat-trick, to restrict Team Kolkata to 210 all out in their 2022 fixture. Rajasthan went on to win the match by seven runs.

Brabourne Stadium T20I records

Highest team total: India’s 167/3 against Australia is the highest T20I score at the Brabourne Stadium. Gautam Gambhir’s 52-ball 63 helped India chase down a target of 167 set by Australia in 18.1 overs.

Lowest team total: Australia, who won the toss and batted first in the only T20I at Brabourne Stadium against India, posted a score of 166/5. The score is the lowest total at the venue.

Most runs: Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting’s 76 against India in 2007 is the most runs scored in a T20I at the Brabourne Stadium. Ponting’s knock comprised 13 boundaries and it is the highest individual score in T20I matches at the ground.

Highest partnership: Gautam Gambhir and Robin Uthappa’s 82-run stand for the second wicket against Australia in 2007 is the highest partnership at this venue. The record stand saw Gambhir contribute 38 runs while Uthappa added 35 prior to his dismissal.

Most wickets: Former Indian cricket team pacer Irfan Pathan has taken the most T20I wickets at this ground courtesy his 2/34 against Australia at an economy rate of 8.5 at the Brabourne Stadium. He also has the best bowling figures in T20I matches at the ground.

Author: William Paul