Team Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma became only the second Indian to score 10,000 runs in T20 cricket. The Indian cricket team captain did so by scoring 28 runs off 17 balls in a losing cause against Team Punjab on April 13 in Indian T20 League 2022.

Since T20 cricket came into existence, only seven cricketers have reached the milestone in the shortest format. West Indies legend Chris Gayle was the first-ever to score 10,000 runs in T20 cricket and is also the highest run-getter in the format

Chris Gayle, the fastest to 10,000 runs in T20

The seasoned T20 campaigner, Chris Gayle has represented as many as 28 different teams, including the West Indies national cricket team, since playing his first T20 match in 2005. Between 2005 and 2022, the ‘Universal Boss’ has played 463 matches, scoring 14,562 runs.

This includes as many as 88 half-centuries and a whopping 22 tons. This is the most number of centuries any player has ever scored in T20 cricket. Furthermore, Gayle is also the only player to hit more than 1000 boundaries and as many sixes. In 455 T20 innings, the southpaw has hit 1,132 fours and 1,056 sixes.

Moreover, Chris Gayle also holds the record for the highest individual score in T20 cricket. The 42-year-old scored an unbeaten 175 off just 66 balls while playing for Team Bangalore against Team Pune in the 2013 edition of the Indian T20 League.

Virat Kohli, the first Indian to score 10,000 runs in T20

While Gayle was the first and the fastest player to breach the 10,000-run mark in T20 cricket, former Indian captain Virat Kohli became the second fastest to do so in September 2021. The 33-year-old, who has scored 10,380 runs in the shortest format, did so in just 314 matches.

Shoaib Malik, Kieron Pollard also among best

Following Gayle in the list of most runs in the shortest format is the Pakistan all-rounder Shoaib Malik. The veteran cricketer has scored 11,698 runs in 472 T20 matches. Although Malik has hit 71 half-centuries during the time, the only thing eluding his T20 career is a century.

Meanwhile, Kieron Pollard sits third with 11,484 runs in T20 cricket. Gayle, Malik and Pollard are the only players to score more than 11,000 runs in the shortest format.

Australia captain Aaron Finch and Virat Kohli complete the top five list. Finch, who has played 348 T20 matches between 2009 and 2022, has scored 10,499 runs while hitting 1,004 boundaries.

Finch’s teammate David Warner comes sixth with 10,373 runs followed by Rohit Sharma on seventh.

10,000 runs in T20 cricket

Player Matches Runs Average Strike rate 100s 50s
Chris Gayle 463 14,562 36.22 144.75 22 88
Shoaib Malik 472 11,698 36.55 127.13 0 71
Kieron Pollard 586 11,484 31.37 151.68 1 56
Aaron Finch 348 10,499 33.97 139.76 8 69
Virat Kohli 331 10,380 40.86 133.23 5 76
David Warner 315 10,373 37.72 140.66 8 86
Rohit Sharma 375 10,003 31.75 133.74 6 69

Featured photo: AFP / Manjunath Kiran