Former Pakistan cricket team captain Babar Azam became the fastest to 10000 runs in T20 cricket. 

Babar Azam achieved the incredible feat in just 271 innings, surpassing the previous record held by Chris Gayle. The former West Indies cricketer took 285 innings to accomplish the milestone.

Opening the batting, Peshawar Zalmi skipper Azam attained the feat after he slammed an impressive 51-ball 72 against Karachi Kings in a Pakistan Super League 2024 clash at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. Interestingly, the right-handed batter needed just six runs prior to the match to set the world record.

India talisman Virat Kohli features third on the list to fastest to 10000 runs in T20 cricket. The former Bangalore captain reached the landmark against Team Mumbai in the Indian T20 League 2021. He is the first Indian to reach the landmark.

Despite his best efforts, he fell a step short of the title as Team Hyderabad pipped Bangalore by eight runs in the final. Four of his five centuries in the Indian T20 League came in that season alone. Unfortunately, that’s the closest he has come to winning the Indian T20 League as despite having an elusive record, he has never won the league title.

Kohli also possesses the honour of being the highest run-scorer of the Indian T20 League. He has amassed 7,263 runs in 237 matches with seven enturies and 50 half-centuries. Only David Warner (60) has scored more half-centuries than Kohli in the Indian T20 League.

Earlier, Virat Kohli became only the fifth player to breach the 10,000-run mark in T20 cricket. Only the likes of Chris Gayle (14,562), Shoaib Malik (13,188), Kieron Pollard (12,738) and David Warner (12,065) managed the feat previously.

Since then, Alex Hales (12,209), Aaron Finch (11,994), Rohit Sharma (11,156), Jos Buttler (11,146), Colin Munro (10,648), James Vince (10,280) and David Miller (10,019) have breached the 10,000-run mark in T20 cricket. Get the list of fastest to 10000 runs in T20.

Fastest to 10000 runs in T20

Player Matches Innings Opposition Match Date
Babar Azam 281 271 Karachi Kings February 21, 2024
Chris Gayle 290 285 Team Gujarat April 18, 2017
Virat Kohli 314 299 Team Mumbai September 26, 2021
David Warner 304 303 Team Chennai April 28, 2021
Aaron Finch 332 327 Perth Scorchers December 22, 2021
Jos Buttler 372 350 Derbyshire June 23, 2023

​​​​​​​Photo credit: Alamy