A sensational performance in their final Pool A match against South Africa followed by Ireland women’s 2-0 defeat to Great Britain gave the Indian women’s hockey team a passage to the quarter-finals of the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. The team, led by Rani Rampal, will lock horns with Australia in the quarters.

Team India had a poor start to their Tokyo 2020 campaign, losing 5-1 to Netherlands. This was followed by a 2-0 defeat over Germany and a 4-1 loss to Great Britain.

India needed a win in their penultimate Pool A match against Ireland and Navneet Kaur’s late goal made all the difference. They then went on to play an absolute blinder against South Africa to emerge 4-3 victors. This along with Ireland’s loss to Great Britain helped India women create history as they reached the quarter-finals for the first time in their history.

However, regardless of the two back-to-back victories, India have shown a lack of penetration and have been underwhelming at times. They will head into the quarter-final clash against Australia as underdogs and with good reason.

Australia has been anything but underwhelming. They have won all of their five Pool B matches and finished at the top of the tally with a goal difference of +12. They have scored a whopping 13 goals in those five outings while conceding just one.

That said, Indian head coach Sjoerd Marijne believes that his team will enter the match with a free mind. “The pressure is on Australia and not on us. We’ll be able to play freely and that will work for us,” he told the Indian Express.

India vs Australia women’s hockey full squads

India women’s hockey squad: Savita Punia (goalkeeper), Deep Grace Ekka, Nikki Pradhan, Gurjit Kaur, Udita, Nisha, Neha, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Monika, Navjot Kaur, Salima Tete, Rani Rampal (captain), Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Vandana Katariya, Sharmila Devi

Australia women’s hockey squad: Rachael Lynch (goalkeeper), Edwina Bone, Jane Claxton (captain), Savannah Fitzpatrick, Emily Chalker, Kate Jenner, Stephanie Kershaw, Amy Lawton, Rosie Malone, Kaitlin Nobbs, Brooke Peris, Karri Somerville, Penny Squibb, Grace Stewart, Renee Taylor, Mariah Williams

Where to watch India vs Australia women’s hockey quarter-final at Tokyo 2020 Olympics in India?

The Tokyo 2020 Olympics women’s hockey quarter-final match between India and Australia will be telecast on Sony Pictures Network and national broadcasters Doordarshan (DD Sports and DD National). Coverage will begin live at 8:30 AM IST on August 2, Monday.

Live streaming of the Tokyo 2020 Olympics women’s hockey match between India and Australia will be available on the SonyLIV app and website.

Featured photo: Hockey India