Pro Kabaddi League Season 10 will start on December 2, PKL organisers Marshal Sports announced on Thursday, August 17.

The 10th edition of the PKL will return to the 12-city caravan format for its milestone season.

As many as 12 teams will compete in a total of 137 matches, including the playoffs stage during PKL 10. 

Bengal Warriors, Bengaluru Bulls, Dabang Delhi K.C, Gujarat Giants, Haryana Steelers, Jaipur Pink Panthers, Patna Pirates, Puneri Paltan, Tamil Thalaivas, Telugu Titans, U Mumba and U.P. Yoddhas are the 12 teams that will battle for the Pro Kabaddi Season 10 title.

As per the PKL Season 10 format, each team will play the other side twice in a double round-robin format. The top six teams after all league matches will qualify for the playoffs. 

The top two teams in the standings will advance automatically to the PKL Season 10 semi-finals. The remaining four teams will lock horns in the eliminators.

The third-placed team will face the sixth-placed side, while the fourth-placed outfit will  square off against the fifth-placed team in the eliminators for a place in the semi-finals.

The Pro Kabaddi League Season 10 Auction will be held from September 8-9 in Mumbai. 

Ahead of the PKL Season 10 Auction, all teams have announced their retained list

A total of 84 players have been retained across three categories with 22 from the Elite Retained Players (ERP) category, 24 in the Retained Young Players (RYP) category and 38 in the Existing New Young Players (ENYP) category. 

The likes of Maninder Singh, Pawan Sehrawat and Vikash Kandola will go under the hammer in the Pro Kabaddi Season 10 player auction. 

Jaipur Pink Panthers are the defending champions of the Pro Kabaddi League. Led by captain Sunil Kumar, Jaipur Pink Panthers defeated Puneri Paltan 33-29 in the PKL 2022 final. They were also the inaugural champions of the PKL in 2014.

Patna Pirates are the most successful team in PKL history, having won the title on three occasions.

Apart from Jaipur Pink Panthers and Patna Pirates, U Mumbai, Bengaluru Bulls, Bengal Warriors and Dabang Delhi K.C. have clinched the PKL title once each.

Photo credit: Alamy