Nigerian striker Bartholomew Ogbeche and retired Canadian star Ian Hume share the record for most hat-tricks in Indian Super League.

Hume, who represented Kerala Blasters, Atlético de Kolkata and Pune City, hit his first hat-trick in a 4-1 win against Mumbai City FC in the 2015 edition. His second triple strike came just 26 days later in Atlético de Kolkata’s 4-1 triumph over Pune City.

Ian Hume’s third and final hat-trick came in the 2017-18 season as he inspired Kerala Blasters to a 3-1 win against Delhi Dynamos.

Hume’s feat of most hat-tricks in Indian Super League (3) would later be matched by Bartholomew Ogbeche with his hat-trick in the ISL 2021-22 season.

Bartholomew Ogbeche, the all-time leading goalscorer in the Indian Super League, recorded his three hat-tricks with three different clubs. In the 2018-19 season, the 37-year-old Nigerian forward initiated NorthEast United’s counter-attack in their 4-3 win over Chennaiyin FC with his triple strike.

His next hat-tricks came in Kerala Blasters’ 3-6 loss to Chennaiyin FC (ISL 2019-20) and Hyderabad FC’s 4-0 win against SC East Bengal (ISL 2021-22).

Indian national football team captain Sunil Chhetri is the only homegrown player to have scored a hat-trick in the Indian Super League. Chhetri is among the six players with two hat-tricks in the tournament.

Andre Moritz, the first player to score a hat-trick in the Indian Super League, leads the list of 13 players with a solitary triple strike in the ISL.

Most hat-tricks in Indian Super League

Player Hat-tricks Last hat-trick date
Ian Hume 3 January 10, 2018
Bartholomew Ogbeche January 24, 2022
Stiven Mendoza 2 November 21, 2015
Dudu Omagbemi November 26, 2016
Coro December 9, 2017
Marcelinho December 30, 2017
Sunil Chhetri March 11, 2018
Modou Sougou February 22, 2019
Andre Moritz 1 October 18, 2014
Thongkhosiem Haokip November 17, 2015
Reinaldo November 29, 2015
Diego Forlán November 19, 2016
Seiminlen Doungel January 19, 2018
Roy Krishna February 8, 2020
Manuel Onwu February 23, 2020
Bipin Singh February 24, 2021
Greg Stewart December 14, 2021
Deshorn Brown December 27, 2021
Kiyan Nassiri January 29, 2022
Jorge Ortiz February 9, 2022
Airam Cabrera March 6, 2022

Author: William Paul

Featured photo: Twitter / Indian Super League