Bartholomew Ogbeche scored a brace for Hyderabad FC on February 19, 2022, to surpass Bengaluru FC captain Sunil Chhetri for the most goals in Indian Super League history. 

The Nigerian produced another scintillating performance to help the Nizams secure a crucial 3-2 win against FC Goa in Indian Super League 2021-22 at the GMC Athletic Stadium. Overall, Ogbeche has netted 63 times in 96 matches in the ISL.

Earlier, Chhetri's 87th-minute goal against Hyderabad FC in a 1-2 defeat witnessed the Indian captain topping the list for most goals in Indian Super League for a short time before Ogbeche took the lead once again. 

The Bengaluru captain has bagged 53 goals in 130 matches while former FC Goa forward Ferran Corominas had scored 48 goals in 57 matches.

Two-time ISL Golden Boot winner Corominas arrived in the Indian Super League in 2017 amidst massive fanfare. The clinical striker had plied his trade in Spain’s La Liga, including a long tenure with Espanyol where he played alongside the former Paris Saint-Germain manager Mauricio Pochettino.

After brief stints with Girona, Elche and Mallorca, Corominas joined FC Goa and scored 18 goals in his debut season for the Gaurs. Coro, as he is fondly known by supporters, continued his rich run of form in the subsequent season, scoring 16 goals and winning the ISL Golden Boot for the second time running.

He scored plenty of goals in the 2019-20 ISL season as well, but his tally of 14 strikes was bettered by Roy Krishna, Nerijus Valskis and Bartholomew Ogbeche in that campaign.

Meanwhile, Chhetri, who has played for Bengaluru FC and Mumbai City FC in the ISL, scored seven goals in his debut ISL season with the Islanders. In his first season with Bengaluru FC in the Indian Super League, Chhetri netted 14 times as his team narrowly missed out on the title.

During Bengaluru’s title winning-run in 2018-19, the Indian stalwart scored nine goals.

Meanwhile, Bengaluru FC's new talisman Roy Krishna is fourth on the list with 41 goals from 77 matches, while the former NorthEast United winger Marcelinho Leite Pereira completes the top five list with 34 goals in 87 games.

Most goals in Indian Super League

Player Matches Goals
Bartholomew Ogbeche 96 63
Sunil Chhetri 131 53
Ferran Corominas 57 48
Roy Krishna 78 41
Marcelinho 87 34

Featured photo: ISL Media