The race for the Golden Boot in the Indian Super League was kicked-off by ATK Mohun Bagan attacking midfielder Hugo Boumous in the ISL 2021-22 season curtain-raiser against Kerala Blasters at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda on Friday, November 19.

How the ISL golden boot award is determined 

The Golden Boot, given to the ISL top scorer at the end of a season, is one of the most prestigious individual awards in India's premier football league.

According to the previous ISL rules, if multiple players accumulate the same number of goals, the player with a higher assist count is handed the award. In the unlikely scenario of a deadlock in the assist count as well, the player who has played the least minutes that season will be awarded the coveted prize.

Former FC Goa striker Igor Angulo won the Golden Boot in ISL 2020-21, having scored 14 goals.

Last season, the top scorer would be determined by minutes per goal and the practice will continue in the latest edition of India's premier football competition.

Check | Golden Boot winners from every ISL season

ISL top scorer for 2021-22: Golden Boot award contenders

Hyderabad FC forward Bartholomew Ogbeche bagged the ISL 2021-22 Golden Boot award with 18 goals from 20 matches. ISL's all-time top scorer was followed by Greg Stewart of Jamshedpur FC with 10 goals and 10 assists.

Among the homegrown players, ATK Mohun Bagan's Liston Colaco surprised one and all with his amazing displays. The 23-year-old forward netted eight times this season and has also provided five assists.

ISL top scorer 2021-22 rankings


Matches Goals Assists
Bartholomew Ogbeche - Hyderabad FC 20 18 1
Greg Stewart - Jamshedpur FC 21 10 8
Igor Angulo - Mumbai City FC 19 10 2
Cleiton Silva - Bengaluru FC 19 9 3
Daniel Chukwu - Jamshedpur FC 21 9 1

Feature photo: ISL Media