The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 is scheduled to start on July 20 next year and run till August 20.

The ninth edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup will be hosted by Australia and New Zealand - making it the first time that the quadrennial tournament will have two host nations.

The upcoming edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup will also expand from 24 to 32 teams participating in the marquee FIFA event.

Two-time defending champions United States are the most successful team in the FIFA Women’s World Cup’s history, having won the title four times in 1991, 1999, 2015 and 2019.

Germany have claimed the FIFA Women’s World Cup twice while Norway and Japan have bagged it once each.

Meanwhile, Australia and New Zealand have automatically qualified for the 2023 edition of the tournament for being co-hosts.

The AFC Women’s Asia Cup 2022 champions China, runners-up South Korea, semi-finalists Japan and Philippines have also made the cut under AFC (Asia) slots.

On the other hand, UEFA Group A winners Sweden, Group B winners Spain, Group E winners Denmark and Group I winners France have also qualified for the quadrennial tournament.

The CONCACAF W Championship 2022 semi-finalists United States, Costa Rica and Canada have also sealed their place for the upcoming edition of FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Four-time winners and reigning champions United States will head into the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 as favourites, having defeated Netherlands 2-0 in the 2019 final in France.

How do teams qualify for FIFA Women’s World Cup

Teams can qualify for the Women’s World Cup through various continental championships. However, UEFA organises their own qualifying competition.

Host nations automatically qualify for the FIFA Women’s Cup while 207 other FIFA member nations compete to secure qualification.

As per the allocation of slots for each federation in the FIFA Women’s World Cup, AFC (Asia) has six, CAF (Africa) has four, CONCACAF (North America, Central America and the Caribbean) have four, UEFA (Europe) has 11 while the inter-confederation play-off tournament has three slots.

The three remaining spots at the Women’s World Cup are decided in a ten-team playoff tournament.

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 qualified teams


New Zealand


South Korea




United States

Costa Rica






Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in football betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: FRANCK FIFE / AFP