SC East Bengal’s current run of 15 games without a win is the record for the longest winless run in ISL

The Red and Gold Brigade’s last win in the Indian Super League came against Jamshedpur FC on February 7, 2021, when goals from Ville Matti Steinmann and Anthony Pilkington guided them to a 2-1 win.

Since then, the team has lost eight of their 15 matches while drawing seven. During this time, East Bengal played the highest goal-scoring match of the Indian Super League when they lost 5-6 to Odisha FC on February 27, 2021.

Their biggest defeat in terms of margin came against ATK Mohun Bagan in their second match of the ISL 2021-22 season, with goals from Roy Krishna, Manvir Singh and Liston Colaco condemning East Bengal to a 0-3 defeat.

During their run of 15 games without a win, East Bengal have conceded 32 goals while scoring just 19 times. They have scored two or more goals on just three occasions. A run that started in match 91 of the ISL 2020-21 season is still ongoing as East Bengal are the only team that is yet to win a match this season.

Meanwhile, Kerala Blasters’ run of 14 games without a win in the 2018-19 ISL season is the joint second-longest winless run in the league. After beating ATK 2-0 in the opening match of the season, the team went on to draw eight and lose six of their next 14 matches. The Blasters registered a mere two wins that season, finishing a lowly ninth in the league.

A season later, Hyderabad FC repeated the feat by going 14 games without a win. After beating Kerala Blasters in their third match of the season, the Nizams went on to lose as many as 10 games and drew four. During this time, they scored just 13 goals and shipped in a whopping 29 strikes. 

In the same season - 2019-20 - NorthEast United, who finished ninth, a place above Hyderabad, failed to win each of their last 14 games. Following a 1-0 win over the Nizams, the Highlanders lost eight and drew six of their 14 games before getting a win.

Meanwhile, Delhi Dynamos, now rebranded as Odisha FC, complete the top five list for the longest winless run in ISL. Between the 2017-18 and the 2018-19 season, the team went without a win for 12 games.

Longest winless run in ISL

Team Season (s) Number of matches Start of run Last match of run
SC East Bengal 2020-21, 2021-present 15* Match 91 (ISL 2020-21) Ongoing
Hyderabad FC 2019-20 14 Match 16 Match 81
Kerala Blasters 2018-19 14 Match 7 Match 70
NorthEast United FC 2019-20 14 Match 25 Match 90
Delhi Dynamos 2017-18, 2018-19 12 Match 87 (2017-18) Match 55 (2018-19)

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in football betting? Click here to get the top sites.

Featured photo: ISL Media