Mumbai City FC hold the record for the longest unbeaten run in ISL, now surpassing FC Goa and ATK Mohun Bagan's previous record of 15 matches. While ATK and Goa's unbeaten runs were under the same manager, Juan Ferrando, Mumbai have been guided atop by Des Buckingham.

Mumbai City FC are the latest phenomenon in the Indian Super League. Starting from matchweek 1 of the 2022-23 season, where they drew 3-3 against Hyderabad FC, the Islanders remained undefeated for 18 matches, winning 14 and drawing four matches, scoring 53 goals in the process.

The Des Buckingham-led side lost their penultimate league phase by a scoreline of 2-1 against Bengaluru FC on February 15, 2023, putting a halt to a fantastic unbeaten streak.

Mumbai City FC also created a new record for the longest winning streak in the Indian Super League, winning 11 matches in a row in their 2022-23 campaign. 

Under Ferrando, FC Goa remained undefeated for 15 matches in the 2020-21 campaign before their streak was ended by defending champions Mumbai City FC in their opening match of ISL 2021-22. The Gaurs’ 15-match winning run started with a 2-1 win over Jamshedpur FC in match 38 of ISL 2020-21. 

Upon joining the ATK Mohun Bagan side in December 2021, the Spanish manager guided the Mariners to a 15-game unbeaten streak, which stands still to date.

Earlier, FC Goa had snapped Mumbai City FC’s record 12-match unbeaten streak after the Gaurs played out a goalless draw against Hyderabad FC in ISL 2020-21 at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda.

Sergio Lobera’s Mumbai City FC had a dominant run in ISL 7 as the Islanders went on a 12-match unbeaten run. Mumbai City kicked-off their unbeaten streak with a 1-0 win over FC Goa and their run was ended by NorthEast United FC following a 1-2 loss at GMC Athletic Stadium in Goa.

Apart from FC Goa and Mumbai City FC, Hyderabad FC were also on a 12-match unbeaten run during ISL 2020-21. Hyderabad’s unbeaten run began with a 4-1 win against Chennaiyin FC and it ended with a 0-1 loss against the Marina Machans in ISL 2021-22.

The Gaurs appear twice on this list for the longest unbeaten run in ISL as they remained undefeated for 12 matches between ISL 2014 and 2015.

NorthEast United FC and Bengaluru FC have registered 11-match unbeaten runs in ISL. While the Highlanders scripted their unbeaten streak during ISL 2020-21, the Blues went on their run from the start of the ISL 2018-19 campaign.

Longest unbeaten run in ISL

Team Season (s) Number of matches Start of run Last match of run
Mumbai City FC 22-23 18 October 9, 2022 February 11, 2023
ATK Mohun Bagan 21-22 15 Match 20 Match 110
FC Goa 20-21 15 Match 38 Semifinal second leg
Mumbai City FC 20-21 12 Match 6 Match 71
Hyderabad FC 20-21 12 Match 47 Match 109
FC Goa 2014, 2015 12 Match 26, 2014 Match 5, 2015
NorthEast United 20-21 11 Match 56 Semifinal first leg
Bengaluru FC 18-19 11 Match 2 Match 56

Featured photo: ISL Media