The Indian Super League 2022-23, India’s premier football competition, kickstarted with Kerala Blasters’ 3-1 victory over East Bengal FC in the first match on October 7.

Kerala Blasters’ Adrian Luna netted the opening goal of the tournament, which also flagged off the exhilarating race for the season’s Golden Boot award, given to the top goal-scorer of the edition.

Chennaiyin FC’s Abdenasser El KhayatiMumbai City FC’s Jorge Diaz and East Bengal's Cleiton Silva are the leading players contesting for the ISL 2022-23 Golden Boot award.

While Jorge Diaz played his first season in the previous edition, Cleiton Silva debuted in 2020 and has scored 16 goals in 37 appearances for Bengaluru FC before moving to East Bengal.

Meanwhile, the 2019-20 and 2021-22 season Golden Boot winner Bartholomew Ogbeche, who is also the leading goal-scorer in ISL history, started the season on an underwhelming note, scoring just two goals in the first 10 matches.

Nonetheless, defending champions Hyderabad FC’s chances of qualifying for yet another playoff haven’t been hit by Ogbeche’s inconsistent form as they are well placed in the top-half of the points table. 

Among Indians, Odisha FC’s Nandhakumar Sekar and Mumbai City FC duo Bipin Singh and Lallianzuala Chhangte are strong contenders to finish as the leading goal-scorer in ISL season 9.

All-in-all, the chase for the Golden Boot award is anticipated to get exciting with each passing game and the player with the most goals will receive the accolade following the conclusion of the tournament in March 2023.

Top goal-scorers at Indian Super League 2022-23

Player Team Appearances Goals
Cleiton Silva East Bengal FC 16 10
Iker Guarrotxena FC Goa 16 10
Jorge Diaz Mumbai City FC 16 10
Dimitrios Diamantakos Kerala Blasters 16 9
Diego Mauricio Odisha FC 16 9
Lallianzuala Chhangte Mumbai City FC 17 9
Abdenasser El Khayati Chennaiyin FC 9 8
Petar Siliskovic Chennaiyin FC 16 8
Dimitri Petratos ATK Mohun Bagan 14 7
Bartholomew Ogbeche Hyderabad FC 16 7


Photo credit: Alamy