The FA Community Shield is a yearly competition in English football played between the winners of the Premier League and the FA Cup from the previous season. It acts as the curtain-raiser for the new football season ahead. 

In case the winners of the aforementioned trophies are the same, the opponent changes to the league runners-up.

Manchester United won the first Community Shield match in 1908, beating Queens Park Rangers 4-0 in a replay.

The Community Shield, formerly known as the Charity Shield, has undergone several changes in its format. To begin with, from its inception in 1908 until 1912, the match was played between the winners of the Football League and the Southern Football League.

Traditionally, the venue of the Community Shield match has been the home of English football, the Wembley Stadium. That, however, wasn’t the case until 1974 as several stadiums, including Chelsea’s Stamford Bridge and Manchester United’s Old Trafford, were used.

Which team has won the most Community Shield?

Record Premier League champions Manchester United hold the record for winning the most FA Community Shields. The Red Devils have done so on 21 occasions since its inception. They have also made the most appearances in the Community Shield (30) and have most defeats (9) in the contest.

Second on the list is Arsenal with 17 Community Shields, followed by Liverpool (16), Everton (9), Tottenham (7) and Manchester City (6).

Community Shield records

Since the inception of the Premier League in 1992-93, Eric Cantona has scored the most goals in the Community Shield. The former Man United striker has scored five goals in four appearances.

Ray Clemence, Ashley Cole, Eric Cantona and Petr Cech are the most successful players in the history of the Community Shield, winning the trophy a record six times.

The highest scoring game, in regulation, in Community Shield’s history was played between Manchester United and Swindon Town in 1911. The match ended 8-4 in United’s favour.

Manchester United also hold the record for most consecutive losses in the Community Shield (4).

Chelsea’s Stamford Bridge has hosted the most Community Shield matches (10) after Wembley.

Community Shield winners list

Year Winner Runners-up
1908 Manchester United Queens Park Rangers
1909 Newcastle United Northampton Town
1910 Brighton and Hove Albion Aston Villa
1911 Manchester United Swindon Town
1912 Blackburn Rovers Queens Park Rangers
1913 English Professionals XI English Amateurs XI
1920 West Bromwich Albion Tottenham Hotspur
1921 Tottenham Hotspur Burnley
1922 Huddersfield Town Liverpool
1923 English Professionals XI English Amateurs XI
1924 English Professionals XI English Amateurs XI
1925 English Amateurs XI English Professionals XI
1926 English Amateurs XI English Professionals XI
1927 Cardiff City Corinthian
1928 Everton Blackburn Rovers
1929 English Professionals XI English Amateurs XI
1930 Arsenal Sheffield Wednesday
1931 Arsenal West Bromwich Albion
1932 Everton Newcastle United
1933 Arsenal Everton
1934 Arsenal Manchester City
1935 Sheffield Wednesday Arsenal
1936 Sunderland Arsenal
1937 Manchester City Sunderland
1938 Arsenal Preston North End
1948 Arsenal Manchester United
1949 Portsmouth and Wolves -
1950 England World Cup XI FA Canadian Touring Team
1951 Tottenham Hotspur Newcastle United
1952 Manchester United Newcastle United
1953 Arsenal Blackpool
1954 West Bromwich Albion and Wolves -
1955 Chelsea Newcastle United
1956 Manchester United Manchester City
1957 Manchester United Aston Villa
1958 Bolton Wanderers Wolves
1959 Wolves Nottingham Forest
1960 Burnley and Wolves -
1961 Tottenham Hotspur FA Select XI
1962 Tottenham Hotspur Ipswich Town
1963 Everton Manchester United
1964 Liverpool and West Ham United -
1965 Liverpool and Manchester United -
1966 Liverpool Everton
1967 Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur -
1968 Manchester City West Bromwich Albion
1969 Leeds United Manchester City
1970 Everton Chelsea
1971 Leicester City Liverpool
1972 Manchester City Aston Villa
1973 Burnley Manchester City
1974 Liverpool Leeds United
1975 Derby County West Ham United
1976 Liverpool Southampton
1977 Liverpool and Manchester United  
1978 Nottingham Forest Ipswich Town
1979 Liverpool Arsenal
1980 Liverpool West Ham United
1981 Aston Villa and Tottenham Hotspur -
1982 Liverpool Tottenham Hotspur
1983 Manchester United Liverpool
1984 Everton  Liverpool
1985 Everton Manchester United
1986 Liverpool and Everton -
1987 Everton Coventry City
1988 Liverpool Wimbledon
1989 Liverpool Arsenal
1990 Liverpool and Manchester United -
1991 Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur -
1992 Leeds United Liverpool
1993 Manchester United Arsenal
1994 Manchester United Blackburn Rovers
1995 Everton Blackburn Rovers
1996 Manchester United Newcastle United
1997 Manchester United Chelsea
1998 Arsenal Manchester United
1999 Arsenal Manchester United
2000 Chelsea Manchester United
2001 Liverpool Manchester United
2002 Arsenal Liverpool
2003 Manchester United Arsenal
2004 Arsenal Manchester United
2005 Chelsea Arsenal
2006 Liverpool Chelsea
2007 Manchester United Chelsea
2008 Manchester United Portsmouth
2009 Chelsea Manchester United
2010 Manchester United Chelsea
2011 Manchester United Manchester City
2012 Manchester City Chelsea
2013 Manchester United Wigan Athletic
2014 Arsenal Manchester City
2015 Arsenal Chelsea
2016 Manchester United Leicester City
2017 Arsenal Chelsea
2018 Manchester City Chelsea
2019 Manchester City Liverpool
2020 Arsenal Liverpool
2021 Leicester City Manchester City
2022 Liverpool Manchester City
2023 Arsenal Manchester City

Featured photo: AFP / Adrian Dennis