The Premier League is the top-division tournament in English football.

The competition - known as the FA Premier League - was founded in 1992, with 22 clubs involved in the First Division breaking away from the Football League.

The initial season involved 19 teams directly from the First Division and three teams from the Second Division. From the 1993-94 campaign, the teams earning promotion to the Premier League would come from the First Division instead of the Second Division that was discontinued in 1992.

From the 1995-96 season, the Premier League operated with 20 teams. The edition saw two teams earn promotion from the First Division (now second-tier), but it would revert to a format where three teams would be promoted.

Prior to the start of the 2004-05 Premier League season, the First Division would be renamed as the Football League Championship.

In all, 50 clubs have played in the Premier League. While 48 teams are based in England, two (Cardiff City and Swansea City) are located in Wales.

There have been just seven different league winners in history, with Liverpool being the last team to claim a maiden Premier League crown.

Who won the first Premier League?

Manchester United won the inaugural season of the Premier League in 1992/93. The Red Devils maintained a 10-point advantage in the title race and finished ahead of Aston Villa, who managed 74 points from 42 games.

Mark Hughes finished as the top scorer for Manchester United as he scored 15 goals in 41 games, and would be supported by Ryan Giggs, Eric Cantona and Brian McNair (nine goals).

Who has won the most Premier League titles?

Manchester United have won the Premier League 13 times, the most by any team. As it would be, the club triumphed in the league all during the managerial tenure of Sir Alex Ferguson.

The Red Devils last won the Premier League in the 2012-13 season, with Robin van Persie scoring 26 goals. The season would be Ferguson’s final campaign as a manager.

Premier League winners list

2022-23: Manchester City

2021-22: Manchester City

2020-21: Manchester City

2019-20: Liverpool

2018-19: Manchester City

2017–18: Manchester City

2016–17: Chelsea

2015–16: Leicester City

2014–15: Chelsea

2013–14: Manchester City

2012–13: Manchester United

2011–12: Manchester City

2010–11: Manchester United

2009–10: Chelsea

2008–09: Manchester United

2007–08: Manchester United

2006–07: Manchester United

2005–06: Chelsea

2004–05: Chelsea

2003–04: Arsenal

2002–03: Manchester United

2001–02: Arsenal

2000–01: Manchester United

1999–2000: Manchester United

1998–99: Manchester United

1997–98: Arsenal

1996–97: Manchester United

1995–96: Manchester United

1994–95: Blackburn Rovers

1993–94: Manchester United

1992–93: Manchester United

Author: William Paul

Featured photo: AFP / DAVE THOMPSON