The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday announced that the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22 will start on February 23, 2022, and conclude on March 26, 2022.

According to the new domestic cricket calendar, the Indian limited-overs domestic competition will have a total of 169 matches in the upcoming season. 

Just like the Ranji Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy will have 38 teams being divided into three Elite Groups - A, B and C and one Plate Group. Group A and B will have nine teams each while Group C and Plate Group will feature 10 teams each.

"The BCCI is confident of hosting the domestic season with health and safety of players and all people involved being paramount," the BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a statement.

The Indian cricket board has also announced that the Ranji Trophy will return to the domestic calendar after the 2019-20 season was cancelled owing to the rising COVID-19 cases in the country.

A whopping 2,127 domestic games will be played in the 2021-22 season which includes various age groups and women's tournaments. The Indian domestic season will start with the Senior Women's One Day League on September 21. The calendar also includes Senior Women's One Day Challenger Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Meanwhile, the BCCI has decided to scrap the Irani Cup, Duleep Trophy and the Deodhar Trophy for the upcoming season.

What happened in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21?

The Prithvi Shaw-led Mumbai lifted the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 by beating Uttar Pradesh by six wickets in the final at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. With this title, Mumbai have won the Vijay Hazare Trophy four times equalling the record of Karnataka. Interestingly, Tamil Nadu is the most successful team in the competition having won the title on five occasions.

Featured photo: Twitter/MumbaiCricketAssociation