Mumbai captain Prithvi Shaw made a strong case for a comeback in the Indian cricket team set-up after he became the first player to score more than 800 runs in a single edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy

The 21-year-old reached the milestone in the Vijay Hazare Trophy final against Uttar Pradesh. 

Shaw scored 73 runs off just 39 balls to take his tally to 827 runs in eight matches at a staggering average of 165.40. He has smashed four centuries this season, including an unbeaten 227 against Puducherry in the group stage which made him only the eighth Indian to score a double century in senior 50-over cricket. 

The Mumbai opener had surpassed Mayank Agarwal's record for most runs in one season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy in the semi-final match against Karnataka. 

Most runs in a single edition of Vijay Hazare Trophy

Player Team Matches Runs HS Average SR 100s 50s Season
Prithvi Shaw Mumbai 8 827 227* 165.40 138.29 4 1 2020/21
Devdutt Padikkal Karnataka 7 737 152 147.40 97.96 4 3 2020/21
Mayank Agarwal Karnataka 8 723 140 90.37 107.91 3 4 2017/18
Devdutt Padikkal Karnataka 11 609 103* 67.66 81.09 2 5 2019/20
Dinesh Karthik Tamil Nadu 9 607 118 86.71 102.01 2 4 2016/17

Shaw was recently dropped from the Indian team after a poor run of form in the Tests against Australia Down Under. The Bihar-born cricketer had scored a duck and four runs during the first Test against Australia in December. He also had a horrible Indian T20 League last year playing for the Delhi franchise. 

Meanwhile, Mumbai defeated Uttar Pradesh by six wickets to win the 2021 Vijay Hazare Trophy at the Arun Jaitley Stadium on Sunday.

This is Mumbai's fourth Vijay Hazare Trophy title and their first since the 2018/19 season. Interestingly, the Shaw-led side won all matches they played in the tournament this season. 

Feature image courtesy: Twitter/MumbaiCricAssoc