The Indian cricket team, led by Shikhar Dhawan, will begin their Sri Lanka tour with a three-match ODI series starting from July 18, Sunday. The second and third ODIs will take place on July 20 and 23 respectively, and all the matches will be played at the R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

The ODI series was originally scheduled to start from July 13 but two Covid-19 cases were detected in the Sri Lanka camp just days before the start date. Consequently, both the cricket boards decided to postpone the series by five days.

With India’s first-string team, having big names like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja and more, currently in England for a five-match Test series, BCCI has sent a strong second-string side to Sri Lanka with Dhawan as skipper aided by vice-captain Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Rahul Dravid is the head coach.

Experienced players like Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal and Manish Pandey will also be playing the white-ball series. India have also taken five net bowlers in Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore and Simarjeet Singh.

While this will be India cricket team’s first limited-overs competitive match since the suspension of the Indian T20 League, the Lankans head into the ODI series on the back of a 2-0 ODI series loss against England.

Furthermore, Sri Lanka is also likely to be without former skipper Kusal Perera, who has an injury, and first-choice wicket-keeper Niroshan Dickwella. Dasun Shanaka will lead the team.

Sri Lanka vs India ODI squads

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya De Silva (Vice-Captain), Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ashen Bandara, Minod Bhanuka (Wicket-Keeper), Lahiru Udara, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dhananjaya, Shiran Fernando, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Praveen Jayawickrema, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana

India squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Sri Lanka vs India ODI schedule, fixtures and live India match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day, Date



Time (IST)

Sunday, July 18

Sri Lanka vs India, 1st ODI

R. Premadasa Stadium

3:00 PM IST

Tuesday, July 20

Sri Lanka vs India, 2nd ODI

R. Premadasa Stadium

3:00 PM IST

Friday, July 23

Sri Lanka vs India, 3rd ODI

R. Premadasa Stadium

3:00 PM IST

Where to watch Sri Lanka vs India ODI series live?

The Sri Lanka vs India ODI series will be telecast live on Sony TEN 1, Sony TEN 3, Sony TEN 4, Sony SIX and their corresponding HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of Sri Lanka vs India ODI series will be available on the Sony LIV app and website.

Featured Image: AFP/ Punit Paranjpe