Australia will lock horns with South Africa in a three-match Test series starting on December 17, 2022 in Brisbane.

This will be the first Test series between the two sides since 2018 when the Proteas hosted a four-match series, which was marred by the ‘sandpaper gate’ controversy. The hosts won 3-1.

The first Test of the upcoming tour will be staged at the Brisbane Cricket Ground, followed by Melbourne and Sydney. 

The Australian cricket team is on the back of a 2-0 win against the Windies at home. The Pat Cummins-led side won the first match by 164 runs and followed it with another convincing win, this time by a margin of 419 runs.

Marnus Labuschagne, who is the world’s No. 1 Test batter, finished as the leading scorer with 502 runs, including two tons and one double-century, whereas Nathan Lyon topped the wicket-taking charts with 12 wickets at an average of 21.17.

This tour will be the first assignment for the South African cricket team post the recently-concluded T20 World Cup, where they were eliminated in the group stage.

However, they have had some much-needed match practice time under their belt after they played a warm-up match against Cricket Australia XI ahead of the opening Test.

As far as the World Test Championship 2021-23 is concerned, it’s a battle between the top-two teams, with the hosts occupying the No. 1 spot. 

For Australia, three wins in the remaining seven WTC matches will be enough to play the final at The Oval in June next year. 

The scenario for Proteas is comparatively tricky as they have to win at least three Tests from their remaining five in the current cycle to make it to the WTC summit clash in 2023 on their merit.

Initially, three ODIs were to follow the three Test matches. However, South Africa pulled out from the 50-over series to make space for the newly introduced SA20, which will begin on January 10, 2023.

The withdrawal by the Proteas is set to have major complications in their quest for direct qualification for the 2023 World Cup, with the four-time semi-finalists currently languishing at the 11th spot in the Cricket World Cup Super League points table.

Australia vs South Africa 2022-23 Test squads

Australia: Pat Cummins (captain), David Warner, Scott Boland, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Michael Neser, Mitchell Starc

South Africa: Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma, Gerald Coetzee, Theunis de Bruyn, Sarel Erwee, Simon Harmer, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams, Khaya Zondo, Glenton Stuurman

Australia vs South Africa 2022-23 Schedule and live match times

All times are in Indian Standard Time (IST).

Day and date




December 17-21

1st Test


5:50 AM

December 26-30

2nd Test


5:00 AM

January 4-8

3rd Test


5:00 AM

Where to watch Australia vs South Africa 2022-23 series live in India?

The Australia vs South Africa 2022-23 Test series will be telecast live on Sony Sports Network and their HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the Australia vs South Africa 2022-23 Test series will be available on the SonyLIV app and website.


Photo credit: Alamy