The inaugural season of the much-anticipated South African T20 cricket league, called the SA20 2023, is all set to commence on January 10, 2023. 

The six participating teams in the tournament will represent their respective cities. Durban's Super Giants, Joburg Super Kings, MI Cape Town, Paarl Royals, Pretoria Capitals and Sunrisers Eastern Cape will compete for the championship. MI Cape Town will face Paarl Royals in the competition’s curtain raiser. 

Each team will play the other five sides twice in a double round-robin home and away format.

The tournament window is strategically chosen keeping in mind the availability of all the South African players contesting in the competition. 

The Proteas are scheduled to play three Tests during the South Africa tour of Australia 2022/23. Initially, the three Tests were to be followed by three ODIs. 

However, the ODI series was cancelled to accommodate the newly formed SA20. The Test series will end on January 8, 2023, after which South African players will return to ply their trade in the SA20.

A mid-season break from January 25 to February 1 will make room for the rescheduled three-match ODI series between England and hosts South Africa. The final phase of the league will resume on February 2.

Pretoria Capitals, Joburg Super Kings, Sunrisers Eastern Cape and Paarl Royals are the four teams that reached the semi-finals of the SA20 2023. The first semi-final between Capitals and Royals will took place on February 8, followed by the semi-final between Sunrisers and Super Kings on February 9.

Pretoria Capitals and Sunrisers Eastern Cape will contest in the first-ever final of the SA20 on February 11.

SA20 2023 full squads

Pretoria Capitals: Anrich Nortje, Migael Pretorius, Rilee Rossouw, Phil Salt, Wayne Parnell, Josh Little, Shaun von Berg, Adil Rashid, Cameron Delport, Will Jacks, Theunis de Bruyn, Marco Marais, James Neesham, Kusal Mendis, Daryn Dupavillon, Shane Dadswell, Eathan Bosch

MI Cape Town: Kagiso Rabada, Dewald Brevis, Rashid Khan, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Rassie van der Dussen, Ryan Rickelton, George Linde, Beuran Hendricks, Duan Jansen, Delano Potgieter, Odean Smith, Ziyaad Abrahams, Wesley Marshall, Olly Stone, Waqar Salamkheil, Grant Roelofsen

Joburg Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Maheesh Theekshana, Romario Shepherd, Gerald Coetzee, Harry Brook, Janneman Malan, Reeza Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, George Garton, Alzarri Joseph, Leus du Plooy, Lewis Gregory, Lizaad Williams, Nandre Burger, Donavon Ferreira, Malusi Siboto, Caleb Seleka

Paarl Royals: David Miller, Jos Buttler, Obed McCoy, Corbin Bosch, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jason Roy, Dane Vilas, Bjorn Fortuin, Mitchell van Buuren, Wihan Lubbe, Ferisco Adams, Imran Manack, Evan Jones, Ramon Simmonds, Eoin Morgan, Codi Yusuf 

Sunrisers Eastern Cape: Aiden Markram, Ottniel Baartman, Marco Jansen, Tristan Stubbs, Sisanda Magala, Junaid Dawood, Mason Crane, JJ Smuts, Jordan Cox, Adam Rossington, Roelof van der Merwe, Marques Ackerman, James Fuller, Brydon Carse, Sarel Erwee, Ayabulela Gqamane, Tom Abell

Durban's Super Giants: Quinton de Kock, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Reece Topley, Prenelan Subrayen, Dwaine Pretorius, Heinrich Klaasen, Keemo Paul, Keshav Maharaj, Kyle Abbott, Junior Dala, Dilshan Madushanka, Johnson Charles, Matthew Breetzke, Christiaan Jonker, Simon Harmer, Wiaan Mulder

Where to watch SA20 2023 live in India?

The live telecast of the SA20 2023 will be available on Sports18 and Viacom18 Sports TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the SA20 2023 will be available on the Voot and Jio TV app and website.

SA20 2023 schedule and India match times

All timings are in Indian Standard Time (IST).

Day and Date Match Venue Time
Tuesday, January 10 MI Cape Town vs Paarl Royals Cape Town 9:00 PM
Wednesday, January 11 Durban’s Super Giants vs Joburg Super Kings Durban 9:00 PM
Thursday, January 12 Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs Pretoria Capitals Gqeberha 9:00 PM
Friday, January 13 Paarl Royals vs Joburg Super Kings Paarl 5:00 PM
Friday, January 13 MI Cape Town vs Durban’s Super Giants Cape Town 9:00 PM
Saturday, January 14 Pretoria Capitals vs Sunrisers Eastern Cape Pretoria 5:00 PM
Saturday, January 14 MI Cape Town vs Joburg Super Kings Cape Town 9:00 PM
Sunday, January 15 Durban’s Super Giants vs Paarl Royals Paarl 5:00 PM
Monday, January 16 Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs MI Cape Town Gqeberha 9:00 PM
Tuesday, January 17 Paarl Royals vs Durban’s Super Giants Paarl 5:00 PM
Tuesday, January 17 Joburg Super Kings vs Pretoria Capitals Johannesburg 9:00 PM
Wednesday, January 18 MI Cape Town vs Sunrisers Eastern Cape Cape Town 5:00 PM
Wednesday, January 18 Pretoria Capitals vs Joburg Super Kings Pretoria 9:00 PM
Thursday, January 19 Paarl Royals vs Sunrisers Eastern Cape Paarl 9:00 PM
Friday, January 20 Durban’s Super Giants vs Pretoria Capitals Durban 9:00 PM
Saturday, January 21 Paarl Royals vs MI Cape Town Paarl 5:00 PM
Saturday, January 21 Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs Joburg Super Kings Gqeberha 9:00 PM
Sunday, January 22 Paarl Royals vs Pretoria Capitals Paarl 5:00 PM
Sunday, January 22 Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs Durban’s Super Giants Gqeberha 9:00 PM
Monday, January 23 MI Cape Town vs Pretoria Capitals Cape Town 9:00 PM
Tuesday, January 24 Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs Paarl Royals Gqeberha 5:00 PM
Tuesday, January 24 Joburg Super Kings vs Durban’s Super Giants Johannesburg 9:00 PM
Thursday, February 2 Durban’s Super Giants vs MI Cape Town Durban 9:00 PM
Friday, February 3 Joburg Super Kings vs Paarl Royals Johannesburg 5:00 PM
Friday, February 3 Durban’s Super Giants vs Sunrisers Eastern Cape Durban 9:00 PM
Saturday, February 4 Pretoria Capitals vs MI Cape Town Pretoria 9:00 PM
Sunday, February 5 Joburg Super Kings vs Sunrisers Eastern Cape Johannesburg 5:00 PM
Sunday, February 5 Pretoria Capitals vs Durban’s Super Giants Pretoria 9:00 PM
Monday, February 6 Joburg Super Kings vs MI Cape Town Johannesburg 9:00 PM
Tuesday, February 7 Pretoria Capitals vs Paarl Royals Pretoria 9:00 PM
Wednesday, February 8 Semi-final 1 - Pretoria Capitals vs Paarl Royals Johannesburg 9:00 PM
Thursday, February 9 Semi-final 2 - Joburg Super Kings vs Sunrisers Eastern Cape Pretoria 9:00 PM
Saturday, February 11 Final - Pretoria Capitals vs Sunrisers Eastern Cape Johannesburg 8:00 PM


Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Unsplash