Scoring a century is a massive feat for any batter in T20 cricket. 

Considering each team bats for a maximum of 20 overs (120 legal balls), registering a century in T20 format often helps a side put a good total on the board.

With the ever evolving T20 format, batters now look to smash the bowlers to all parts of the ground.

Hence, a batter’s strike rate has become one of the important stats to judge the significance of a T20 knock.

To calculate a batter’s strike rate in cricket, we must divide the total number of runs they have scored by the number of deliveries they have faced. Then, the value is multiplied by 100 to get the strike rate of the batter.

However, when a pitch is tricky or any team is in a difficult position, it becomes challenging for a batter to score runs freely.

There have been instances when batters had to hang in and work very hard to score a century in T20 cricket. 

Let’s have a look at the list of few slowest centuries in T20 international cricket.

Slowest century in T20 international cricket






Martin Guptill


South Africa

East London


Morne van Wyk


West Indies



Rohit Sharma





Mahela Jayawardene





Rohit Sharma


South Africa



Martin Guptill, 69 balls vs South Africa, 2012

Former New Zealand cricketer Martin Guptill scored the slowest century in T20 international cricket. During the second T20I of New Zealand’s tour of South Africa in 2012, Guptill registered a 69-ball hundred in East London. After the visitors restricted the Proteas to 165/5 in 19 overs a side game, Martin Guptill opened the innings with Rob Nicol. Guptill later played the full 19 overs as he smashed a four off the last ball of the match to take New Zealand to an eight-wicket victory. While the right-handed batter became just the second batter to score a hundred while chasing in T20Is, he recorded the slowest century in T20 international at a strike rate of 146.37.

Morne van Wyk, 67 balls vs West Indies, 2015

Former South Africa cricketer Morne van Wyk features second on the list of the slowest century in T20 international cricket. Opening the batting, Morne van Wyk scored a century off 67 balls against West Indies in the third T20I in Durban. The wicketkeeper-batter remained unbeaten on 114 off 70 balls to help South Africa post 195/3 in their 20 overs. Morne van Wyk’s maiden international century was laced with nine fours and seven maximums. In reply, West Indies were bundled out for 126 in 19 overs as South Africa won the match by 69 runs. 

Rohit Sharma, 64 balls vs Afghanistan, 2024

Indian cricket team captain Rohit Sharma is third on the list of the slowest century in T20 international cricket. During the third T20I of Afghanistan’s tour of India in 2024, Rohit Sharma scored a 64-ball century in Bengaluru. Opting to bat first, India were reduced to 22/4 in 4.3 overs while the Indian skipper was still at the other end. Rohit then later stitched an incredible unbeaten 190-run stand with Rinku Singh for the fifth wicket. Rohit remained unbeaten on 121 off 69 balls, which included 11 fours and eight sixes. Rinku also scored a 39-ball 69 to guide India to 212/4 in their 20 overs. In reply, Afghanistan managed 212/6 in their allotted overs as the match went into two Super Overs, which India later won.   

Photo credit: Alamy