A Super Over, also known as one-over eliminator, is a method used in limited-overs cricket matches to decide the winner in case of a tie.

It was introduced in 2008 to replace the bowl-out method that was earlier used for breaking a tie match.

Super Over rules

In case a match is tied, the two teams select three batsmen and a bowler to play a single, additional over each to determine the winner of the game. At the end of the two overs, the team which scores the most runs is declared the winner.

The statistics involved in a Super Over are not included in the players’ career stats.

Meanwhile, the captain of the fielding team (or his nominee) shall select the ball with which the fielding team shall bowl its over. The team field second has the right to use the same bowl or select another bowl from the same box.

Additionally, the fielding team shall select the end from which it is to bowl its one over.

The interval between the two overs in the Super Over shall be five minutes.

Who bats first in a Super Over?

The team that batted second in the original match will always bat first in the Super Over, while the bowling team chooses which end they would like to bowl from.

How many wickets in Super Over?

Each team can nominate three batsmen, which means two wickets are allowed for each batting team in the Super Over. If the batting team loses both wickets early, then their innings ends.

What happens if Super Over is tied?

According to the ICC rules, if the Super Over is tied, then subsequent Super Overs shall be played for a reasonable amount of time until there is a winner. 

The team batting second in the previous Super Over shall bat first in the subsequent Super Over.

Bowlers cannot bowl successive overs for their respective teams and a batsman dismissed in the initial Super Over, is ineligible to bat again.

If a batter is dismissed or retired out in the first Super Over, then the batter is ineligible to bat again in the next Super Over. However, if the batter retires hurt, he can bat again in the subsequent Super Over.

If in case, the overs cannot continue for any reason, then the match result is declared as a tie.

Previously, Super Overs that ended in a tie used to be decided on a boundary countback rule, with the team that hit the most boundaries declared the winner. This rule was later repealed as it got massive criticism after the England vs New Zealand 2019 Cricket World Cup final.


When was Super Over introduced in cricket?

The Super Over was first introduced in a tied Twenty20 international match between the West Indies and New Zealand on 26 December 2008. 

In the encounter, West Indies had selected Chris Gayle, Xavier Marshall and Shivnarine Chanderpaul as their nominated batsmen. Left-arm spinner Daniel Vettori was the nominated bowler for New Zealand.

West Indies had posted 25/1 courtesy their swashbuckling batsman Chris Gayle who smashed all the runs off six balls, the most runs in a Super Over. Xavier Marshall was run out without facing a ball while Shivnarine Chanderpaul remained at the non-striker's end.

In reply, the Kiwis opened their innings with Jacob Oram and Brendon McCullum while Ross Taylor was supposed to bat after the fall of the first wicket. Left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn was West Indies’ nominated bowler.

New Zealand lost the wickets of Jacob Oram and Ross Taylor as they could only manage 15 runs in five balls. Opener Brendon McCullum didn't face a single delivery and he remained at the non-striker's end.

Featured photo: Marty MELVILLE / AFP