The upcoming Ranji Trophy 2022-23 season will start on December 13, 2022, and run until February 20, 2023.

In the latest development, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has introduced a new Ranji Trophy format starting with the 2022-23 season.

As per the new Ranji Trophy format, the teams finishing at the top of the Plate Group won’t be able to compete against a team from the Elite Group in the pre-quarter-final, which has been the norm previously. The BCCI has decided to split the Ranji Trophy into two categories - Elite and Plate.

Starting with the upcoming edition, all the six Plate Group teams will compete against each other with the top four teams qualifying for the semi-finals while two bottom-placed sides will lock horns for the fifth/sixth spot.

Furthermore, the two finalists in the Plate Group will be promoted to the Elite Group for the following season.

On the other hand, the Elite Group will feature 32 teams divided into four groups of eight sides each.

According to the schedule, each side will play the other team in the group in a home and away format. The two teams from each of the four groups will directly qualify for the Ranji Trophy quarter-finals. 

The Elite and Plate Group matches are scheduled to start on December 13 with the Plate Group ending on January 29 and Elite Group concluding on February 20.

Madhya Pradesh are the defending champions of the Ranji Trophy, having defeated 41-time winners Mumbai in the 2021-22 final to clinch their maiden title at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: BCCI