The M Chinnaswamy Stadium was established in Bangalore, Karnataka in 1969.

Formerly known as the Karnataka State Cricket Association Stadium, the Bangalore Cricket Stadium is named after the founding member of the Mysore State Cricket Association - Mangalam Chinnaswamy. 

A lawyer by profession, Chinnaswamy was a member of the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KCA) for almost 40 years and was also the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president from 1977 to 1980.

With a seating capacity of 40,000, the M Chinnaswamy Stadium is also the first solar-powered cricket stadium in the world. Surrounded by the picturesque Cubbon Park, it is situated in the heart of the city.

M Chinnaswamy Stadium hosted its first international match in 1974, a Test between India and West Indies that the visitors won by 267 runs. Since then, the venue has staged 23 Tests, 25 ODIs and seven T20Is.

The Indian cricket team has a poor record at this venue in the T20I format, registering two wins and five defeats.

T20I cricket will return to M Chinnaswamy Stadium after three years as India will host South Africa on June 19.

M Chinnaswamy Stadium T20I records

Highest total: Indian cricket team holds the record for posting the highest team total at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. Put into bat against England, India rode on twin fifties from Suresh Raina (63) and MS Dhoni (56) to post 202/6 in their allotted 20 overs in the third T20I of the series. In reply, England were bowled out for 127 as India secured a massive 75-run win.

Lowest total: Sri Lanka cricket team holds the unwanted record of registering the lowest team total at this ground in the T20I format. During a Super 10 match in the ICC T20 World Cup in 2016, West Indies restricted Sri Lanka to 122/9 in their 20 overs. Leg spinner Samuel Badree was the standout bowler for West Indies, picking three wickets for just 12 runs in his quota of four overs. Opener Andre Fletcher’s unbeaten 84 off 64 balls helped West Indies chase down the target in 18.2 overs and win the match by seven wickets.

Highest individual score: Australia swashbuckling batter Glenn Maxwell has recorded the highest individual T20I score at this venue in 2019. During the second T20I of Australia’s tour of India, Maxwell smashed an unbeaten 113 off just 55 balls to help the visitors chase down 191 in 19.4 overs. Earlier, India posted 190/4 after being put into bat in their 20 overs. Australia secured a seven-wicket victory.

Best bowling figures: India spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has the best bowling figures at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in the T20I format. The leg spinner picked six wickets for just 25 runs against England in a T20 match in 2017. India won the match by 75 runs.

Most runs: Glenn Maxwell has also scored the most runs at this venue in the shortest format. The right-handed batter has scored 139 runs in two matches at a strike rate of 198.57. Former India captain Virat Kohli is second on the list with 116 runs.

Most wickets: Yuzvendra Chahal has picked the most wickets at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in T20I cricket. The leg-spinner has claimed six wickets at this venue at an average of 12.

Highest partnership: Pakistan middle-order batters Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik have the highest partnership at this venue in the T20I format. The duo recorded a 106-run partnership for the fourth wicket against India in 2012.

M Chinnaswamy Stadium T20 Records

Highest total: Team Bangalore has scored the highest team total against now-defunct Team Pune at Chinnaswamy Stadium in T20 cricket. During an Indian T20 League match in 2013, Bangalore rode on opener Chris Gayle’s epic knock of an unbeaten 175 off just 66 balls to post a mammoth score of 263/5 in their allotted 20 overs. In reply, Pune could only manage 133/9 in their 20 overs as Bangalore secured a 130-run victory.

Lowest total: Team Bangalore recorded the lowest team total against Team Kolkata in the very first match of the inaugural edition of the Indian T20 League in 2008. Chasing a massive target of 223, Bangalore were bundled out for 82. Pacer Ajit Agarkar was the wrecker-in-chief for Kolkata as he picked three wickets for 25 runs in his four overs. Ashok Dinda and Sourav Ganguly bagged two wickets each for Kolkata. Earlier, Kolkata posted 222/3 courtesy of Brendon McCullum’s unbeaten 158 off just 73 balls.

Highest individual score: Team Bangalore opening batter Chris Gayle holds the record for the highest individual score at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in T20 cricket. Gayle smashed a 66-ball 175 against Team Pune in an Indian T20 League match in 2013. The historic innings was laced with 13 fours and 17 sixes.

Best bowling figures: Yuzvendra Chahal’s 6/25 is also the best bowling figures at this venue in the T20 format. Chahal bagged six wickets for just 25 runs against England in a T20 match in 2017. India claimed a 75-run victory.

Most runs: Former Team Bangalore captain Virat Kohli has amassed the most runs at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in T20 cricket. The swashbuckling right-handed batter has accumulated 2762 runs in 89 matches at a strike rate of 140.06 while also maintaining an average of 36.82. He has smashed three hundreds and 19 fifties at this venue in the shortest format.

Most wickets: Yuzvendra Chahal has also bagged the most wickets at this ground in T20 cricket. Chahal has picked 57 wickets in 45 matches at an economy of 7.84. He has registered two four-wicket hauls and one five-wicket haul. His best bowling figures of 6/25 came against England in a T20I match in 2017.

Highest partnership: Team Bangalore duo of Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers recorded the highest partnership at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in T20 cricket. Playing against the now-defunct Gujarat franchise in an Indian T20 League match in 2016, de Villiers (129 not out) and Kohli (109) forged a 229-run partnership for the second wicket. Bangalore won the match by 144 runs.

Highest successful chase: Powered by a 36-ball 70 from Virat Kohli, Team Bangalore registered the highest successful chase at this venue in T20s against South Australia during the 2011 Champions League T20. After South Australia had set a score of 214 in the first innings, Bangalore made 215 in 20 overs and won the match by two wickets.

Featured photo: Twitter/mipaltan