The New Zealand vs Australia Test 2024 cricket series will start at the Basin Reserve in Wellington on Thursday, February 29.

The upcoming two-match Test series between the trans-Tasman rivals is part of the ongoing ICC World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25.

After the opening Test in Wellington, the two sides will travel to Christchurch to play the second Test to be hosted at the Hagley Oval starting on March 8.

The New Zealand cricket team will aim to bounce back after suffering a 0-3 series defeat against Australia in the recently concluded T20I series as their arch-rivals clinched the Chappell-Hadlee trophy for the eighth occasion.

Ranked fifth in the ICC men’s Test team rankings, the hosts registered a 2-0 series win over South Africa in their previous Test assignment earlier this month. 

Having registered three wins and one defeat, New Zealand are on top of the WTC 2023-25 standings.

Ahead of the high-profile Test series, New Zealand have announced their 14-member squad to be led by captain Tim Southee.

Pacer Scott Kuggeleijn has been recalled to New Zealand’s Test squad to replace injured Kyle Jamieson, who has been ruled out for the rest of the season with a stress fracture.

Young fast bowler Will O’Rourke retained his place after his impressive Test debut against South Africa where he bagged nine wickets.

On the other hand, reigning World Test Championship holders Australia will look to continue their dominance over the Kiwis, having not lost a Test match in New Zealand this century.

The Australian cricket team has won nine Tests and drawn one in the 10 matches that have been played in New Zealand since 2000.

The visitors last featured in a Test series against West Indies in January. The two-match Test series ended 1-1.

The world’s top-ranked Test side is placed third in the WTC 2023-25 standings, behind India.

Meanwhile, bowling allrounder Michael Neser has been recalled to Australia’s Test squad for the upcoming two-match Test series.

Following David Warner’s Test retirement, Steve Smith is expected to continue as an opener.

New Zealand vs Australia head-to-head in Test cricket

Australia have a dominant head-to-head record against New Zealand in Test cricket, winning 34 of the 60 matches that they have played so far. New Zealand have registered just eight victories so far. As many as 18 Tests between these two sides have ended in draws.

The last time these two sides met in the longest format, Australia whitewashed New Zealand 3-0 in a three-match Test series in Australia in 2019-20.

Where to watch New Zealand vs Australia Test 2024 series live in India

Live streaming of the New Zealand vs Australia Test 2024 series will be available on Amazon Prime Video in India.

There will be no live telecast of the NZ vs AUS Tests on any TV channel in India.

New Zealand vs Australia Test 2024 schedule and live match start times

All match times are in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Thursday,  February 29 - Monday, March 4

New Zealand vs Australia, 1st Test

Basin Reserve, Wellington

3:30 AM

Friday, March 8 - Tuesday, March 12

New Zealand vs Australia, 2nd Test

Hagley Oval, Christchurch

3:30 AM

New Zealand vs Australia Test 2024 squads

New Zealand Test squad: Tim Southee (captain), Tom Blundell (wicketkeeper), Devon Conway (wicketkeeper), Matt Henry, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Daryl Mitchell, Will O’Rourke, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young

Australia Test squad: Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc

Photo credit: Alamy