The Irani Cup 2022 will be played from October 1 and October 5.

Like in the case of the Duleep Trophy, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have brought the competition back into their domestic cricket schedule for 2022-23.

Named after former BCCI treasurer Z. R. Irani, the Irani Cup was first played in ​​1959–60.

The Irani Cup is annually contested between the defending champions of the Irani Cup and the Rest of India.

Between 1965–66 to 2012–13, it was treated as the curtain-raiser to the domestic cricket season in India.

From 2012-13 until the latest edition in 2018-19, the Irani Cup was held during the domestic season.

Vidarbha are the two-time defending champions of the Irani Cup, as the 2019-20 and 2020-21 editions were not held due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Rest of India team are the most successful team in Irani Cup history, with 28 titles to their name.

Featured photo: Unsplash