The Duleep Trophy 2022 will start on September 8 and run until September 25.

The tournament, named after Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji of Nawanagar (also known as 'Duleep'), was first played in 1961–62. It is the curtain raiser to India’s domestic cricket season in 2022-23 and returns for the first time since 2019-20.

The Duleep Trophy will revert to being an inter-zonal competition, with North East becoming the latest team to join the five previous participating teams; North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone.

Between 2016-17 to 2019-20, the Duleep Trophy featured three teams - India Red, India Blue and India Green. India Red are the current defending champions of the competition.

The North Zone and West Zone, meanwhile, are the most successful teams in Duleep Trophy history with 18 titles. Although, it is worth mentioning that North's total includes one shared trophy while West have three.

While West Zone last triumphed in 2009-10, North Zone matched West’s tally in 2013-14.

West Zone is the team with the most appearances in the Duleep Trophy, making 33 appearances and were the first winners of the competition in 1961-62.

Featured photo: AFP / MONEY SHARMA