The 2022 edition of the Indian T20 League will start from March 26 with the final slated to take place on May 29. A total of 70 matches will be played in the league phase of the tournament. 

The tournament is set to be staged across Mumbai and Pune at four shortlisted venues - Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai), Brabourne Stadium (Mumbai), DY Patil Stadium (Mumbai) and the MCA International Stadium (Pune). 

Each team will play 14 league matches in the tournament with four matches each at Wankhede Stadium and D.Y. Patil Stadium and three matches at the Brabourne Stadium and MCA International Stadium respectively. 

To ensure equality for all sides, the 10 teams have been divided into two virtual groups of five each based on the seeding system determined by the number of Indian T20 League championships won and the number of final appearances. 

Indian T20 League 2022 groups 

Group A 

Group B

Team Mumbai

Team Chennai

Team Kolkata

Team Hyderabad

Team Rajasthan

Team Bangalore

Team Delhi

Team Punjab

Team Lucknow

Team Gujarat

Each team in the league stage of the Indian T20 League will play the other four teams in their respective group twice besides also squaring off two times against the team in the same row of the other group as per the table above. They will also play once against the remaining four teams in the tournament from the other group. 

For example, Mumbai will play twice against Group A participants Kolkata, Rajasthan, Delhi and Lucknow besides facing Chennai from Group B twice. They will also play once against Group B’s Hyderabad, Bangalore, Punjab and Gujarat in the league stage. 

The venues for the Indian T20 League playoff matches will be announced by the Governing Council in due course depending on the COVID-19 situation in India. 

"The 15th edition of the Indian T20 League will be played in a bio-secure environment at a single hub to avoid air travel which is considered as a major threat for the spread of COVID-19 infection, thereby affecting the players and the League/matches," a BCCI statement read. 

The complete schedule for the Indian T20 League is expected to be announced in the first week of March. 

Featured photo: Noah Seelam / AFP