The Indian cricket team will take on hosts South Africa in a three-match one-day international (ODI) series starting on Sunday, December 17.

As per the India vs South Africa ODIs 2023 schedule, the first ODI will be played at the New Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. 

The two sides will later travel to Gqeberha to play the second ODI at St George's Park on Tuesday, December 19.

The third and final ODI is scheduled to be held at Boland Park in Paarl on Thursday, December 21.

India and South Africa will head into the ODI series after a closely-fought T20I series. 

While the first T20I was abandoned due to rain in Durban, South Africa won the second game by five wickets (DLS method) in Gqeberha.

The Suryakumar Yadav-led India later bounced back to defeat the hosts by 106 runs in Johannesburg as the three-match T20I series ended 1-1.

After being dropped from the T20I squad, wicketkeeper-batter KL Rahul will lead India in the upcoming three-match ODI series.

Apart from Rahul, Shreyas Iyer and Kuldeep Yadav are the other two cricketers retained from the ODI World Cup squad.

Rinku Singh and B Sai Sudharsan have earned their maiden ODI call-up while Rajat Patidar has also been recalled for the ODI format.

The likes of Sanju Samson, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Washington Sundar, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Mukesh Kumar and Avesh Khan have been included in the Indian ODI squad.

Suryakumar Yadav, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj have been rested.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli will also miss the ODI series before being back for the Tests.

On the other hand, the South Africa cricket team will be led by captain Aiden Markram in the absence of Temba Bavuma, who has been rested for the white-ball series against India.

Uncapped Nandre Burger and Mihlali Mpongwana have been included in the Proteas ODI squad.

Wicketkeeper-batter Kyle Verreynne and all-rounder Wiaan Mulder have been recalled for the 50-over format.

For South Africa, Kagiso Rabada, Gerald Coetzee, Lungi Ngidi and Marco Jansen will not feature in the three-match ODI series.

India vs South Africa ODI head-to-head

South Africa hold a superior head-to-head record against India in one-day international cricket, winning 50 of the 91 matches played between these two sides. India have registered 38 victories. As many as three matches have ended in no results.

The last time these two sides met in the ODI format, India thrashed South Africa by 243 runs in the ICC World Cup 2023 match at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Where to watch India vs South Africa ODIs 2023 live in India?

The India vs South Africa ODIs 2023 will be telecast live on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 1 HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the India vs South Africa ODIs will be available on the Disney+ Hotstar app and website in India.   

India vs South Africa ODIs 2023 schedule and live match start times

All timings are in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Sunday, December 17

India vs South Africa, 1st ODI

New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

1:30 PM 

Tuesday, December 19

India vs South Africa, 2nd ODI

St George's Park, Gqeberha

4:30 PM 

Thursday, December 21

India vs South Africa, 3rd ODI

Boland Park, Paarl

4:30 PM 

India vs South Africa ODI 2023 squads

India ODI squad: KL Rahul (captain/wicket-keeper),Ruturaj Gaikwad, B Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar

South Africa ODI squad: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen (wicket-keeper), Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper), Lizaad Williams

Photo credit: Alamy