The India national cricket team will host England in a five-match Test series starting on Thursday, January 25.

As per the India vs England Tests 2024 schedule, the first match will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, while the second Test will be hosted at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium scheduled to begin on February 2.

The two teams will later travel to Rajkot to play the third Test at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, starting on February 15.

The fourth Test is scheduled to be held at the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi before the fifth and final Test will kickoff at the picturesque Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala on March 7.

The upcoming five-match Test series is part of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25.

Two-time runners-up India are currently placed second in the WTC 2023-25 standings with 26 points from four Tests. 

On the other hand, England are languishing seventh in the standings with nine points from five matches.

Ahead of the series, the hosts have suffered a massive blow as star batter Virat Kohli has pulled out of the first two Tests due to personal reasons.

The likes of Rajat Patidar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sarfaraz Khan and B Sai Sudharsan are in the race to replace Kohli in the squad.

Led by captain Rohit Sharma, India have announced a spin-heavy squad for the opening Two Tests.

Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel are part of the four-man spin attack.

Vice-captain Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar and Avesh Khan are the four pacers included in the squad.

Wicketkeeper-batter Dhruv Jurel has earned his maiden India call-up as he will be back-up to KL Rahul and KS Bharat.

The England cricket team will be led by star all-rounder Ben Stokes.

Pacer Gus Atkinson and spinners Tom Hartley and Shoaib Bashir are three uncapped players added to England’s 16-member Test squad.

Apart from Hartley and Bashir, Jack Leach and young Rehan Ahmed are the other two spinners included in the squad.

In the pace bowling attack, James Anderson, Mark Wood, Ollie Robinson and Atkinson are the four options.

However, the visitors will miss the services of star batter Harry Brook due to personal reasons. Dan Lawrence has been named replacement for Brook.

India vs England head-to-head in Test cricket

England have a superior head-to-head record against India in Test cricket, winning 50 of the 131 matches that they have played so far. India have registered 31 Test victories while as many as 50 matches have ended in draws.

The last time these two sides met, England beat India by seven wickets in Birmingham in July 2022.

Where to watch India vs England Tests 2024 live in India?

The India vs England Tests 2024 will be telecast live on Sports18 1 and Colors Cineplex TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the IND vs ENG Tests 2024 will be available on the JioCinema app and website in India. 

India vs England Tests 2024 schedule and live match start times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date




Thursday, January 25 - Monday, January 29

India vs England, 1st Test

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

9:30 AM IST

Friday, February 2 - Tuesday, February 6

India vs England,  2nd Test

Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam

9:30 AM IST

Thursday, February 15 - Monday, February 19

India vs England, 3rd Test

Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

9:30 AM IST

Friday, February 23 - Tuesday, February 27

India vs England, 4th Test

JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi

9:30 AM IST

Thursday, March 7 - Monday, March 11

India vs England, 5th Test

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala

9:30 AM IST

India vs England Tests 2024 squads

India Test squad (for first two matches): Rohit Sharma (captain), Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Dhruv Jurel (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan

England Test squad: Ben Stokes (captain), Rehan Ahmed, James Anderson, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Shoaib Bashir, Dan Lawrence, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes, Tom Hartley, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Mark Wood

Photo credit: Alamy