The Indian women’s cricket team will lock horns with Australia in their opening match of the Women’s T20 event at Commonwealth Games (CWG) 2022 in Birmingham, England on Friday, July 29. The match will start at 4:30 PM IST (Indian Standard Time).

Cricket makes an entry to the Commonwealth Games for the first time in 24 years since a List A men’s tournament was held in the 1998 Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The women’s cricket T20 competition will make its debut in the prestigious multi-sport event. 

Ahead of the first match of the competition, Harmanpreet Kaur-led India suffered a massive blow as two of their cricketers have tested positive for COVID-19 and had to stay back in India.

All-rounder Pooja Vastrakar and batter Sabbhineni Meghana tested COVID positive before the Indian team departed for Birmingham.

However, the Indian team will head into the tournament brimming with confidence after clinching the recently-concluded three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka 2-1.

On the other hand, Meg Lanning will lead the 15-member Australia women’s cricket team squad at CWG 2022.

Meanwhile, the reigning T20 world champions also have few injury concerns and will miss the services of Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham and Sophie Molineux.

Ahead of CWG 2022, gold medal favourites Australia recently hammered hosts Ireland in both the matches in the Women’s T20I Summer Series while their fixtures against Pakistan were abandoned due to rain.

India Women vs Australia Women head-to-head in T20I cricket

Australia Women have a dominant head-to-head record against India Women in the T20I format, winning 16 of the 23 matches that they have played so far. India Women have secured six victories. One match was abandoned.

India women vs Australia women squads for Commonwealth Games 2022

India Women: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Sabbhineni Meghana, Taniya Sapna Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Yastika Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana

Australia Women: Meg Lanning (captain), Rachael Haynes (vice-captain), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy (wicket-keeper), Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney (wicket-keeper), Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Where to watch India Women vs Australia Women Commonwealth Games 2022 live in India?

The India Women vs Australia Women Commonwealth Games T20I match will be telecast live from 4:30 PM IST on Sony Ten 1 and Sony Ten 1 HD TV channels in India on Friday, July 29. 

Live streaming of the India Women vs Australia Women Commonwealth Games T20I match will also be available on the SonyLiv app and website.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites

Featured photo: DAVID ROWLAND / AFP