The Indian cricket team defeated the United States by seven wickets in a low-scoring T20 World Cup 2024 encounter at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on Wednesday, June 12.

With the win, India became the third team to qualify for the T20 World Cup 2024 Super 8 stage after South Africa and Australia.

With three wins in three matches, the Rohit Sharma-led India are currently placed at the top of the Group A standings with six points.

Earlier, India won the toss and decided to field first on a tricky pitch at the newly-built New York cricket stadium.

The Men in Blue rode on Arshdeep Singh’s 4/9 and Hardik Pandya’s 2/14 to restrict the USA to 110/8 in their 20 overs.

Nitish Kumar (27) and Steven Taylor (24) were the top-scorers for the United States.

In reply, India were reduced to 39/3 after they lost Virat Kohli (0), Rohit (3) and Rishabh Pant (18) in 7.3 overs.

Later, Shivam Dube joined Suryakumar Yadav at the crease. The duo played sensibly as they kept India in the hunt.

At the start of the 16th over, USA were docked five penalty runs that changed the enthralling game in India’s favour.

Those five penalty runs gave India the momentum as Suryakumar Yadav (50 not out) and Shivam Dube (31 not out) stitched an unbeaten 72-run stand to guide the Men in Blue to the highest successful chase at New York cricket stadium.

Know why India got 5 penalty runs vs USA in T20 World Cup 2024.

Why India got 5 penalty runs vs USA in T20 World Cup 2024

India got 5 penalty runs vs USA after the co-hosts went past 60 seconds to start a new over three times in the innings. That’s a penalty as per the new rules.

The updated guidelines are according to the 41.9.4 in men’s T20I playing conditions. As per the stop clock rule, the fielding side is required to start each over within 60 seconds of the previous over being completed.

Introduced in December 2023, the stop clock rule has been implemented in the world event for the first time in the ongoing T20 World Cup in the United States and West Indies.

According to the stop clock rule, an electronic clock is on display at the ground that counts down from 60 to 0.

In case the fielding team fails on the 60-second deadline, two warnings will be issued by the umpire to the captain, following which a five-run penalty will be imposed.

As a result, India were awarded five penalty runs which helped them overcome the USA on Wednesday.

With the defeat, Pakistan (+0.191) now has a better run-rate than USA (+0.127) heading into their final group match. 

The USA are currently placed second in the Group A standings with four points while Pakistan are third in the points table with two points.

USA will take on Ireland at the Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground on June 14 while Pakistan will square off against Ireland at the same venue on June 16.

Photo credit: Alamy