The Tamil Nadu Premier League was first held in 2016. The now-defunct Tuti Patriots won the inaugural season by beating Chepauk Super Gillies, a team that would go on to win three of the next four finals.

Chepauk Super Gillies lead the Tamil Nadu Premier League winners list with three titles in 2017, 2019 and 2021. Let's have a look at who the winners defeated in each edition to claim the coveted title.

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2016: Tuti Patriots

Tuti Patriots, who finished third in the league stage, were completely dominant in the TNPL final against table-toppers Chepauk Super Gillies. The Dinesh Karthik-led side hit 215/2 upon opting to bat first, with Abhinav Mukund slamming a 52-ball 82.

In reply, Chepauk Super Gillies were bowled out for 93. Vasanth Saravanan top-scored with 30 runs off 34 balls but his effort went in vain as spinner M Ganesh Moorthi grabbed four wickets for 11 runs.

The 122-run victory in the final added to Tuti Patriots’ 45-run win in the earlier meeting between the teams on matchday one.

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2017: Chepauk Super Gillies

After suffering a disheartening loss in 2016, Chepauk Super Gillies exacted revenge on Tuti Patriots by registering a six-wicket victory in the 2017 TNPL final.

Put to bowl, Chepauk Super Gillies restricted Tuti Patriots to 143/8 in 20 overs. Like in the previous final, Abhinav Mukund ended as the top-scorer in the fixture for his team with a 38-ball 41.

Opener Gopinath led from the front with 38-ball 50 as Chepauk Super Gillies managed to chase the target of 144 with six balls to spare. CSG ended the match with a score of 145/4 in 19 overs.

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2018: Siechem Madurai Panthers

Madurai Panthers and Dindigul Dragons, who ended on equal footing in the league stage of the 2018 campaign, met in the final at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

The Panthers, who won the toss and bowled first, bundled out Dindigul Dragons for 117. Abhishek Tanwar was the most effective bowler as he scalped four wickets for 30 runs.

When they came out to bat, Madurai Panthers rode on Arun Karthik’s unbeaten 75 off 50 balls and Shijit Chandran’s 49-ball 38. There was a bit of a scare for the team after the opposition’s M Silambarasan grabbed three wickets in the opening over at the cost of just two runs.

However, the Panthers managed to hold their ground to secure their first and only title till date.

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2019: Chepauk Super Gillies

After a last-place finish in the 2018 season, Chepauk Super Gillies returned as a TNPL finalist in the 2019 edition and would take on Dindigul Dragons.

Uthirasamy Sasidev (44 runs off 33 balls) and Murugan Ashwin (27-ball 28) stitched a 61-run partnership for the sixth wicket to help CSG plot an eventual match-winning score of 126/8 in their allotted 20 overs.

The Dragons, in return, were reduced to 114/9 in 20 overs as Chepauk’s Ganeshan Periyaswamy put out a player-of-the-match performance with a five-wicket haul (5/15). The victory marked CSG’s second title and first since 2017.

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2021: Chepauk Super Gillies

Chepauk Super Gillies successfully defended their TNPL title as they outclassed Ruby Trichy Warriors by 12 runs in the 2021 Tamil Nadu Premier League final.

Put to bat first, CSG rode on Narayan Jagadeesan’s 58-ball 90 to score 183/6 in 20 overs.

Ruby Trichy Warriors’ run chase started slightly better than Chepauk Super Gillies as they hit 65 runs in the powerplay overs. However, with wickets tumbling in almost every over, RTW could only manage 175/7 in 20 overs and thus, finished as runners-up to now three-time champions Chepauk Super Gillies.

Tamil Nadu Premier League winners list

Season Winners Runners-up
2016 Tuti Patriots Chepauk Super Gillies
2017 Chepauk Super Gillies Tuti Patriots
2018 Siechem Madurai Panthers Dindigul Dragons
2019 Chepauk Super Gillies Dindigul Dragons
2021 Chepauk Super Gillies Ruby Trichy Warriors

Author: William Paul

Featured photo: Twitter / Chennai Super Gillies