The Takashinga Sports Club cricket ground is located in Highfield, Harare in Zimbabwe. 

Established in 1990, the Takashinga Sports Club is home to one of the strongest cricket clubs in Zimbabwe - Takashinga Cricket Club. The famed club was created by Givemore Makoni and Stephen Mangongo.

Former Zimbabwe cricket team captain Andy Flower and wicketkeeper-batter Tatenda Taibu are some of the well known members of the Takashinga Cricket Club.

Takashinga Sports Club was selected as one of the venues for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Qualifier. It hosted its first One-Day International (ODI) between West Indies and the United States on June 18, 2023. Since then, Takashinga Sports Club has hosted five ODIs so far.

Interestingly, Takashinga Sports Club was earlier named Old Winstonians during the 1990s. It was later renamed to Takashinga in 2001.

Takashinga Sports Club ODI records and stats

Highest team total

West Indies and the Netherlands share the record for the highest team total in ODIs at Takashinga Sports Club. Put in to bat in an ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Qualifier clash, West Indies rode on Nicholas Pooran’s unbeaten 104 off 65 balls, along with contributions from Brandon King (76), Johnson Charles (54), captain Shai Hope (47) and Keemo Paul (46) to post a mammoth total of 374/6 in their 50 overs. In reply, Teja Nidamanuru (111) and skipper Scott Edwards (67) helped the Netherlands finish with 374/9 in their allotted overs. The Netherlands later beat West Indies in the Super Over to register a famous win in Harare.

Lowest team total

Nepal hold the record for the lowest team total at this venue in ODIs. Nepal were bowled out for 167 against the Netherlands during their Group A match in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Qualifier. Right-arm pacer Logan van Beek was the wrecker-in-chief for the Netherlands as he bagged four wickets for 24 runs in his 9.3 overs. For Nepal, captain Rohit Paudel top-scored with 33 runs. Led by captain Scott Edwards, the Netherlands chased down 168 in 27.1 overs to register a seven-wicket win. 

Most runs

Pakistani-born American cricketer Shayan Jahangir currently owns the record for the most ODI runs at Takashinga Sports Club. The right-handed batter has scored 210 runs in three matches at an average of 105 and a strike rate of 98.13. He has smashed one hundred and one fifty at this venue in ODI cricket.

Most wickets

Netherlands duo of Bas de Leede and Logan van Beek hold the record for the most ODI wickets at this ground. Both Bas de Leede and Logan van Beek have picked up six wickets at Takashinga Sports Club. While right-arm fast bowler Bas de Leede has claimed six wickets in three matches at an economy of 5.83, another right-arm pacer Logan van Beek has scalped six wickets in three matches at an average of 24.

Highest individual score

Teja Nidamanuru of the Netherlands recorded the highest individual ODI score at this venue. Chasing 375 against West Indies, Teja Nidamanuru smashed 111 off just 76 balls to help the Netherlands tie the game. His scintillating hundred was laced with 11 fours and three sixes. The Netherlands later went on to beat two-time World champions West Indies in the Super Over.

Best bowling figures

Netherlands’ Logan van Beek has registered the best bowling figures in an innings at Takashinga Sports Club against Nepal in ODI cricket. During an ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023 encounter, Logan van Beek bagged a four-wicket haul to bundle out Nepal for 167 in 44.3 overs. The right-arm pacer dismissed Nepal’s wicketkeeper-batter Aasif Sheikh, captain Rohit Paudel, Dipendra Singh and Sandeep Lamichhane to finish with figures of 9.3-1-24-4. Logan van Beek’s match-winning spell powered the Netherlands to a seven-wicket victory in Harare.

Highest partnership

Netherlands skipper Scott Edwards and Teja Nidamanuru hold the record for the highest partnership at this ground in ODI format. Edwards and Nidamanuru stitched a record 143-stand for the fifth wicket against West Indies in their ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Qualifier clash. Netherlands later stunned West Indies in the Super Over to register a famous win.

Photo credit: Alamy