The Pakistan Super League (PSL), the country’s premier franchise T20 competition, was first held in 2016 with five teams vying for the trophy. Five teams also contested for the prize in 2017. Since then, it is usually contested between February to March every year, with six teams battling it out for the coveted PSL trophy. It is administered by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), the country’s cricket governing body.

Islamabad United was the first Pakistan Super League winner, beating Quetta Gladiators in the final of the 2016 edition. They and Lahore Qalanders are the only teams to secure multiple PSL titles, making them the most successful teams in the competition.

Eight seasons have been completed in the PSL since its inception. Meanwhile, Lahore Qalandars, who won the 2023 edition, are the defending champions of the PSL.

Peshawar Zalmi have played four finals, the most final appearances by a team in Pakistan Super League history. They also have the most runner-up finishes (3) in the PSL.

Lahore Qalandars are the only team to successfully defend their PSL title after beating Multan Sultans in 2023.

Ahead of the impending eighth edition of the PSL, know the full PSL winners list

Pakistan Super League winners list





Islamabad United

Quetta Gladiators


Peshawar Zalmi

Quetta Gladiators


Islamabad United

Peshawar Zalmi


Quetta Gladiators

Peshawar Zalmi


Karachi Kings

Lahore Qalandars


Multan Sultans

Peshawar Zalmi


Lahore Qalandars

Multan Sultans


Lahore Qalandars

Multan Sultans


Islamabad United

Multan Sultans

PSL 2016 winners - Islamabad United

Islamabad United were crowned inaugural champions of the Pakistan Super League in 2016. After finishing third in the group stage, Islamabad beat Karachi Kings and Peshawar Zalmi by convincing margins in the playoffs to book their place in the grand finale.

Chasing a stiff target of 175 for the title, Islamabad’s Dwayne Smith got going early on. However, it was Brad Haddin’s 39-ball 61 that won United the trophy in the penultimate over.

PSL 2017 winners - Peshawar Zalmi

The PSL 2017 group stage was extremely competitive with Net Run Rate (NRR) separating the top two as well as the third and fourth-placed sides. Peshawar Zalmi finished atop the points table, thanks to their superior NRR.

Meanwhile, Daren Sammy and Co. stepped up a level in Qualifier 1, beating Karachi Kings after a swashbuckling ton by Kamran Akmal. The skipper Sammy got in on the act in the final, helping Zalmi to the title after a handsome win against Quetta Gladiators.

Kamran Akmal won the Player of the Tournament for his run-scoring prowess.

PSL 2018 winners - Islamabad United

Multan Sultans made their debut in the 2018 edition of the Pakistan Super League. But it was Islamabad United who grabbed all the headlines. The Jean-Paul Duminy-led outfit became the first team to win two PSL titles.

With seven wins in 10 matches, Islamabad secured top spot in the group stage. Luke Ronchi’s rampant 94 was the catalyst in an emphatic qualifier victory to seal the team’s place in the final.

Ronchi was at the fore, once again, in the final with his quickfire fifty helping easily chase down the 149-run target set by Peshawar Zalmi.

PSL 2019 winners - Quetta Gladiators

Masterminded by Daren Sammy, Peshawar Zalmi reached the final for a third time on the bounce in PSL 2019. However, they could only finish as runners-up for the second-consecutive time.

Quetta Gladiators, led by Sarfaraz Ahmed, beat Zalmi in a competitive final to lift the PSL 2019 title in what was a first for the franchise. Earlier, the Gladiators finished second in the group stage, level on points with Daren Sammy’s side but behind on NRR. 

PSL 2020 winners - Karachi Kings

Pakistan Super League’s 2020 edition was played over two phases due to COVID-19. Karachi Kings, who finished second in the group stage, emerged victorious after the playoffs.

The Kings beat Multan Sultans via a Super Over in the qualifier to make the final. Kings then rode on an impressive half century by Babar Azam in the grand final to win the PSL 2020 title.

PSL 2021 winners - Multan Sultans

After coming close to making the final in the previous edition, Multan Sultans celebrated lifting the PSL trophy for the first time in Abu Dhabi in 2021. 

The Sultans finished second in the group stage, courtesy their impressive NRR. A convincing 31-run success against two-time winners Islamabad United ensured their progress to the final, where they made light work of Peshawar Zalmi.

PSL 2022 winners - Lahore Qalandars

Meanwhile, Lahore Qalandars won their first Pakistan Super League title in 2022.

The Shaheen Shah Afridi-led team were second in the group stage, despite a topsy-turvy journey. They also suffered a 28-run defeat in Qualifier 1 against Multan Sultans.

However, the Qalandars bounced back in style, beating Islamabad United in a closely-contested Qualifier 2. Mohammad Hafeez’s all-round heroics in the final ensured a comfortable victory for the Lahore-based franchise. 

PSL 2023 winners - Lahore Qalandars

The Pakistan Super League 2023 edition was another exhilarating campaign. 

The final lived up to the billing and made for a spectacular show. The Qalandars became the only team to record a successful PSL title defence in PSL after beating Multan Sultans by one run in the final.

PSL 2024 winners - Islamabad United

Islamabad United became the most successful team in PSL history after they defeated Multan Sultans by two wickets in a thrilling 2024 final to bag their third PSL title.

Under the leadership of Shadab Khan, Islamabad qualified for the PSL 2024 playoffs after finishing third in the standings with 11 points from 10 matches.

Islamabad later beat Quetta Gladiators by 39 runs in the first eliminator before they pipped Peshawar Zalmi by five wickets in the second eliminator to reach another PSL final. They went on to register third consecutive win in the final to clinch their third PSL title.

Photo credit: Alamy