Former India cricketer MS Dhoni is one the most successful captains in cricket history.

Nicknamed ‘Captain Cool’, MS Dhoni has won almost every trophy that he has competed for in a career spanning almost two decades.

Discounting most of his bilateral series wins with India, Dhoni is the first captain in world cricket to win all three major ICC trophies. Under his leadership, the Indian cricket team won the 2007 ICC World T20, the 2011 Cricket World Cup and the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy. 

In 2013, the Men in Blue also won the ICC ODI Championship Shield for finishing as the number-one ranked ODI side under Dhoni.

During Dhoni’s captaincy tenure, India also clinched the 2010 and 2016 Asia Cup. 

In Test cricket, Dhoni guided India to the 2010 and 2011 ICC Test mace. Under his captaincy, India won the Border-Gavaskar Trophy on three occasions in 2008, 2010 and 2013. Earlier in 2009, Team India also completed a historic Test series win in New Zealand after 41 years led by Dhoni.

Among his many other accomplishments, the MS Dhoni-led India won the Commonwealth Bank Series featuring hosts Australia and Sri Lanka in 2008. Dhoni was also part of the Indian cricket team that won a Test series in England in 2007.

Apart from his success with Team India, Dhoni also enjoyed a stellar career in franchise cricket.

Under his captaincy, Chennai has reached the Indian T20 League finals on 10 occasions. The MS Dhoni-led Chennai has won the coveted Indian T20 League title five times in 2010, 2011,2018, 2021 and 2023.

He has also led Chennai to two Champions League T20 titles in 2010 and 2014.

Between 2004 and 2019, Dhoni scored 17,266 runs in 538 matches for the Indian cricket team at an average of 44.76. He slammed 16 hundreds and 108 fifties in his international career.

Among personal accolades, Dhoni won the ICC ODI Player of the Year award in 2008 and 2009. He was part of the ICC World ODI XI in 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and was selected as captain in 2009 and from 2011 to 14.

Following his legendary career in white-ball cricket, Dhoni was rewarded as he was included in the ICC ODI Men’s team of the Decade and ICC Men’s T20I team of the Decade between 2011 and 2020. He also won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade in 2020.

MS Dhoni was honoured with India’s highest sports award, the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award in 2008. He also received Padma Shri, India’s fourth-highest civilian award in 2009 and third-highest civilian award Padma Bhushan in 2018.

MS Dhoni trophies: Get full list


Number of times won


ICC World T20



ICC Cricket World Cup



ICC Champions Trophy



Asia Cup 


2010, 2016

Border-Gavaskar Trophy


2008, 2010,2013

ICC Test Mace


2010, 2011

CB Series



Indian T20 League


2010, 2011,2018, 2021, 2023

Champions League T20


2010, 2014

MS Dhoni’s awards and achievements




2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award


ICC ODI Player of the Year

2008, 2009

Padma Shri


Padma Bhushan


ICC ODI Team of the Decade


ICC T20I Team of the Decade


ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade


Photo credit: Alamy