The Big Bash League 2022-23 got underway on a thrilling note after Sydney Thunder, who are aiming to win only their second title since 2015-16, registered a narrow one-wicket victory over Melbourne Stars.

Thunder’s pacer Gurinder Sandhu, who was eventually named the Player of the Match for his all-round performance in the game, got the first wicket of that match when he dismissed Joe Clarke for 11 runs.

The wicket flagged off the enthralling race for the Golden Arm award, which is given to the leading wicket-taker at the end of each season. 

Sydney Sixer seamer Sean Abbott and Perth Scorchers’ fast bowler Andrew Tye, who are the leading wicket-takers in Big Bash League history, feature among the top wicket-takers for the ongoing campaign.  

While Sean Abbott got his season up and running with a 3/37 in his team’s 51-run loss against Adelaide Strikers, Andrew Tye’s 2/26 in his side’s first match of the season against Sydney Sixers helped them win in what was the repeat of last year’s final.

So far, Adelaide Strikers’ fast bowler Henry Thornton has recorded the best bowling figures in BBL 2022-23. Thornton’s breathtaking spell of 5/3 was at the forefront of Sydney Thunder’s miserable night, where they were bowled out for 15, recording the lowest score in T20 cricket.

Meanwhile, Adelaide Strikers’ captain Peter Siddle, who topped the wicket-takers charts last season with 30 scalps, has been in contrasting form this time out. He has picked up just three wickets in the first seven matches. 

Daniel Sams (2019-20) and Peter Siddle (2021-22) are the only players to take 30 wickets in a single BBL edition.

Aussie duo Jhye Richardson and Jason Behrendorff alongside Englishman Luke Wood are in the mix to conclude the ongoing season as the top wicket-taker and are making full use of the pace and bounce on offer on Australian wickets to torment the opposition batters.

Most wickets in Big Bash League 2022-23

Player Team Matches Wickets
Sean Abbott Sydney Sixers 15 29
Michael Neser Brisbane Heat 17 26
Andrew Tye Perth Scorchers 16 26
Tom Rogers Melbourne Renegades 15 23
Jason Behrendorff Perth Scorchers 14 21
Riley Meredith Hobart Hurricanes 14 21
Luke Wood Melbourne Stars 14 20
Patrick Dooley Hobart Hurricanes 10 19
Nathan Ellis Hobart Hurricanes 14 18
Wes Agar Adelaide Strikers 13 18

Photo credit: Alamy