Virat Kohli currently holds the record for the most runs for India in T20 World Cup history.

The swashbuckling batter has amassed 1141 runs in just 27 matches at an impressive average of 81.50 and a strike rate of 131.30. Kohli has registered 14 half-centuries - the most fifties by an Indian in the T20 World Cup.

Interestingly, Kohli scored his maiden T20 World Cup fifty (39-ball 50) in his very first match of the marquee ICC T20 tournament against Afghanistan in Colombo in 2012.

The India captain, Rohit Sharma features second on the list. Having made his T20I debut against England during the inaugural edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in South Africa back in 2007, Rohit Sharma has scored 963 runs in 39 matches at an average of 34.39 and a strike rate of 127.88. Between 2007 and 2022, the Indian cricket team captain has scored nine fifties in the T20 World Cup.

Rohit’s highest score in the showpiece event came against Australia in Bridgetown in 2010 when he smashed an unbeaten 79 off just 46 balls. The right-handed batter’s incredible innings went in vain as Australia won the match by 49 runs.

Flamboyant left-handed batter Yuvraj Singh is third on the list. The stylish southpaw has scored 593 runs in 31 matches at a strike rate of 128.91 and an average of 23.72. 

Yuvraj Singh had played an integral role in helping India clinch their maiden ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title in 2007, beating arch-rivals Pakistan in the final. He scored 148 runs in six matches in the edition and smashed fifties against England and Australia in the tournament.

MS Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir are the two other Indians who have scored more than 500 runs in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup history.

While 2007 T20 World Cup-winning captain MS Dhoni scored 529 runs in 33 matches, former India opener Gautam Gambhir accumulated 524 runs in 21 matches.

Dhoni aggregated 529 runs in 29 innings at an average of 35.26 and a strike rate of 123.88. Meanwhile, Gautam Gambhir scored 524 runs in 20 innings at a strike rate of 118.01 and an average of 26.20.

Most runs for India in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Player Span Matches Runs Average  SR 100s 50s
Virat Kohli 2012-2022 27 1141 81.50 131.30 0 14
Rohit Sharma 2007-2022 39 963 34.39 127.88 0 9
Yuvraj Singh 2007-2016 31 593 23.72 128.91 0 4
MS Dhoni 2007-2016 33 529 35.26 123.88 0 0
Gautam Gambhir 2007-2012 21 524 26.20 118.01 0 4


Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Indranil MUKHERJEE / AFP